We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent stay at Idwala. People at the hotel are very friendly. Food is especially exclusieve. Clean room, comfortable bed.
Really each and every person is really kind and whatever request we had, we immedieately got a response.
Very recommended place to stay if you are in Johannesburg.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you very much Stefan for your review of Idwala, I so appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience during your long stay with us. I hope that you had a good trip home and that your wife is now fully recovered. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future! Best regards from the Idwala Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Idwala ticks all the boxes as mentioned in the reviews, beautiful place with friendly staff. Once upon a time they surely deserved being a 5 star guesthouse. So why am I giving 1 star for a 5 star certified facility?

Let me quote from their website: "Idwala’s passion is to care for guests who are looking for the finer things in life." Here they fail dismally.

And the reason? Lack of supervision and quality control. "You cannot expect what you don't inspect" is the golden rule in the hospitality industry. The mostly absent manager (or owner) should step up or step out.

1. Safe not working and still not fixed on day 2.
2. The kitchen needs more staff and training. They take forever to prepare your breakfast, get the orders wrong (this happened at a previous stay as well) and at both my stays there would be long periods without any staff in the dining room. Both times I found the waiters working in the kitchen to get orders out.
3. The two rooms I stayed in are not upgraded to accommodate charging phones and laptops. Don't expect a wall plug, two point plug or USB close enough to your bed. You will need a lead extension. Wall plugs and extensions are few and overloaded.
4. Very limited TV channels. No CNN, Sky, RT or any other news stations other than eTV, a few Mnet channels and SABC.
5. Expired dates of snacks in bar. The unsealed cookies in the jar with no expiry date were so hard I had to soak them in in my coffee.
6. My bathroom wasn't cleaned on the second day and I had to find someone for soap and shampoo. Very frustrating as I was preparing for evening meetings.
7. No air-conditioning.
8. With little effort and TLC, fresh decor etc. including deep cleaning showers and focusing more on hygiene (see pic of my shower); proper staff training and above all, quality control, this run down place can become a 5 Star establishment again. Currently I would rate it a 3 Star guesthouse.
9. Unfortunately I moved out on day 2 and booked into another place managed professionally. I was offered 50% refund for rates paid in advance.
10. If non of the above bothers you, you will love this place.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank royboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear Pastor Harris

Thank you for taking so much of your valuable time to give us feedback on your experience at Idwala. We are of course sorry that our hotel was not a good match for you.

As I personally told you after breakfast, we regret that you did not enjoy the meal you had, and I apologise once again for the fact that your eggs were not done as you requested.

Kind regards
Jeanette & the Idwala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I had an excellent stay at the Idwala Boutique Hotel. Both the place itself with its lovely huts with plenty of space, the excellent breakfast and the friendly and very attentive staff made this a unique hotel experience. Thank you again, Jeanette and your team!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IAmABerliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you so much for writing about our hotel - we are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found your stay to be such a good experience - this is what we work towards, and it is wonderful and very rewarding to get such appreciative feedback from our guests!

Please do come back to Idwala when you are next in Johannesburg!

Best regards from Jeanette and the Idwala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent stay, beautiful scenery, felt like you not in the busy city of Jhb. Service and food was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.Will definitely make a return stay.

Beautiful fire place set outside of the main restaurant.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Zeyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thank you very much for reviewing Idwala - our team are always so happy to get such positive feedback, and we are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the meals you had during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy an evening drink in the Boma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Back after more than 3 years and it is still an amazing experience to stay here !
The staff - food -service-room : still caring and attentitve / still highest german quality ( windows etc)
The new Boma area is divine ....
Am so impressed that the standart and impression I have had in 2013 has not changed at all ...
Any stay in Johannesburg - you are the best choice
well done Idwala Team - you live the word hospitality
Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWS1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Thank you so much for writing about your experience at Idwala - it is really rewarding for all our team to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your impressions! We were delighted that you liked our new Boma - please come back soon, perhaps there will again be something new to enjoy!!!
Best wishes to you from the Idwala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
2.6 km away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
6.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
8.4 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
23.5 km away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
342 reviews
3.2 km away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg

Address: 13 Garrick Road | Johannesburg, Randburg 2194, South Africa (Formerly Idwala Boutique Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range: €121 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Lodge Feeling in one of Johannesburg's finest Boutique Hotel! Enjoy an African 5 Star Experience in the middle of Johannesburg with perfect access to business areas and tourist attractions. For both tourist and executive alike, Idwala offers tranquil surroundings where you can immerse yourself in luxury while at the same time carry out your business efficiently. Room Service, Laundry, Credit Cards, secure parking, conferences, wireless ADSL, transfers/tours, booking services, Restaurant on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg Randburg, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing