We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rustic soot right near the park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liwonde National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Liwonde Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Spent 5 nights here and stayed in a form and the new chalet. There is a great relaxed bush vibe and Fred is happy to help with any questions. It is well worth going into Liwonde and a boat on the River is a great idea. I would be very happy to go and stay here again. The showers are powerful and hot, and the food is great, especially as it is all prepared on open coals! Great please to stay :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank T419KG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a double tent. very nice feeling to be somehow out in the nature. Silence combined with the unknown noise of the animals by night! Nice atmosphere. Unfortunately we did not see to many animals. But this depends on the day!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Remo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Spent 4 nights at LWC - 2 in the new chalet, and 2 in the dorm. You get exactly what you pay for with the dorm (which I mean in a good way); very cheap, but with excellent ablutions blocks, solid bed, mozzie net, etc. The new chalet on the other hand is amazing, one of the best I've ever stayed in, and with a fantastic bush shower! The dinner buffets are up there as well, even more impressive when you see it all being cooked over open coals.

Room Tip: Do whatever you can to spend at least a night in the chalet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CongoAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Delightful trip down the Shire River and into some quiet lagoons. The guide was very knowledgeable about the diverse birds which made our trip even more interesting. The price is reasonable and you don't have to drive all the way back to Mvuu camp to be able to take this boat trip, making it more convenient. The most exciting event we saw was the courting behavior of two crocodiles. But we also saw piles of hippos. You do need to make reservations ahead of time, so they can plan for you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed there for 2 nights and stayed in the dorm as this was more in line with our budget. Safari camps are not cheap but this one is very good value for money. The staff is super friendly (the owner came to chat with us for a bit), the food was very nice (maybe a bit pricey but we were used to cheap restaurant in other places in Malawi and I guess when you are in a National Park everything is more expensive). The dorm is great, very spacious and well designed and the toilets/showers very clean and working well. We did a few tours (walking tour, car safari and boat safari) and I can't recommend one over the others as all were great, our walking tour guide Liwonde (like the park) was the best!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Liwonde Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liwonde Safari Camp

Address: Liwonde National Park, Liwonde National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Liwonde National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Liwonde National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing