We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
71
22
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
22
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari camp boat trip shire river nice atmosphere walking tour game drives the food is great dry season no electricity stayed two nights dorm tent viewing park nature animals malawi
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a double tent. very nice feeling to be somehow out in the nature. Silence combined with the unknown noise of the animals by night! Nice atmosphere. Unfortunately we did not see to many animals. But this depends on the day!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Remo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Spent 4 nights at LWC - 2 in the new chalet, and 2 in the dorm. You get exactly what you pay for with the dorm (which I mean in a good way); very cheap, but with excellent ablutions blocks, solid bed, mozzie net, etc. The new chalet on the other hand is amazing, one of the best I've ever stayed in, and with a fantastic bush shower! The dinner buffets are up there as well, even more impressive when you see it all being cooked over open coals.

Room Tip: Do whatever you can to spend at least a night in the chalet!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CongoAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Delightful trip down the Shire River and into some quiet lagoons. The guide was very knowledgeable about the diverse birds which made our trip even more interesting. The price is reasonable and you don't have to drive all the way back to Mvuu camp to be able to take this boat trip, making it more convenient. The most exciting event we saw was the courting behavior of two crocodiles. But we also saw piles of hippos. You do need to make reservations ahead of time, so they can plan for you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed there for 2 nights and stayed in the dorm as this was more in line with our budget. Safari camps are not cheap but this one is very good value for money. The staff is super friendly (the owner came to chat with us for a bit), the food was very nice (maybe a bit pricey but we were used to cheap restaurant in other places in Malawi and I guess when you are in a National Park everything is more expensive). The dorm is great, very spacious and well designed and the toilets/showers very clean and working well. We did a few tours (walking tour, car safari and boat safari) and I can't recommend one over the others as all were great, our walking tour guide Liwonde (like the park) was the best!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

The Liwonde Safari camp is a beautiful safari camp within Linwonde Park.
Where to begin?

The camp's layout is awesome. It's mostly huts and platforms clustered around each other in the forest, with trails running all about. There are two viewing platforms that look out over the park (great for watch animals or the stars at night).

I stayed in the large dorm, which was really nice. The construction and layout is well done; there are candles one can use and the beds are also comfy.
One can camp, stay in a tent on a platform, or get a private rondal.

The food portions are large and is probably about as good as you can get in Malawi. The bar is an honor system and has a good selection and has chilled water.

The walking tour, driving tour, and boat tour are great. My personal favorite was the boat tour, but that's because we were lucky with seeing elephants.
The tour guides have AMAZING vision and are encyclopedically knowledgeable.

One warning: walking around at night is difficult (very dark). I got lost just trying to go to the bathroom. :-D

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PolishMeKnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews