We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, rustic, bush hide-away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liwonde National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Liwonde Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Spent 4 nights at LWC - 2 in the new chalet, and 2 in the dorm. You get exactly what you pay for with the dorm (which I mean in a good way); very cheap, but with excellent ablutions blocks, solid bed, mozzie net, etc. The new chalet on the other hand is amazing, one of the best I've ever stayed in, and with a fantastic bush shower! The dinner buffets are up there as well, even more impressive when you see it all being cooked over open coals.

Room Tip: Do whatever you can to spend at least a night in the chalet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CongoAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Delightful trip down the Shire River and into some quiet lagoons. The guide was very knowledgeable about the diverse birds which made our trip even more interesting. The price is reasonable and you don't have to drive all the way back to Mvuu camp to be able to take this boat trip, making it more convenient. The most exciting event we saw was the courting behavior of two crocodiles. But we also saw piles of hippos. You do need to make reservations ahead of time, so they can plan for you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed there for 2 nights and stayed in the dorm as this was more in line with our budget. Safari camps are not cheap but this one is very good value for money. The staff is super friendly (the owner came to chat with us for a bit), the food was very nice (maybe a bit pricey but we were used to cheap restaurant in other places in Malawi and I guess when you are in a National Park everything is more expensive). The dorm is great, very spacious and well designed and the toilets/showers very clean and working well. We did a few tours (walking tour, car safari and boat safari) and I can't recommend one over the others as all were great, our walking tour guide Liwonde (like the park) was the best!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

The Liwonde Safari camp is a beautiful safari camp within Linwonde Park.
Where to begin?

The camp's layout is awesome. It's mostly huts and platforms clustered around each other in the forest, with trails running all about. There are two viewing platforms that look out over the park (great for watch animals or the stars at night).

I stayed in the large dorm, which was really nice. The construction and layout is well done; there are candles one can use and the beds are also comfy.
One can camp, stay in a tent on a platform, or get a private rondal.

The food portions are large and is probably about as good as you can get in Malawi. The bar is an honor system and has a good selection and has chilled water.

The walking tour, driving tour, and boat tour are great. My personal favorite was the boat tour, but that's because we were lucky with seeing elephants.
The tour guides have AMAZING vision and are encyclopedically knowledgeable.

One warning: walking around at night is difficult (very dark). I got lost just trying to go to the bathroom. :-D

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank PolishMeKnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We were on vacation in Zomba " Malawi "where our daughter and husband lives. They have taken us to Liwonde Safari camp for 2 knights. We slept in the luxury room with such a very nice view and quiet silence. Such a beautiful nature around you. No electricity or other things, just back to basic and both feed on the ground. how nice can live be! Very good food and wine + the way they cook everything, our compliments to the chefs...Also the game drives & boats are fantastic. Very friendly people . The time on Liwonde safari camp are moments to cherish.
Fam.Dons

Room Tip: The "DORMS" are also very nice . They made low walls between 2 are 3 beds so you can still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibiana2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Liwonde Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liwonde Safari Camp

Address: Liwonde National Park, Liwonde National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Liwonde National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Liwonde National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing