We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kuthengo Camp(Liwonde National Park)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shire Camp(Liwonde National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Concept Lodge(Liwonde National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Gunde B and B(Liwonde National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Kumadzi Tourist Lodge(Liwonde National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Mawila Lodge 1(Liwonde National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ngoms Safari Lodge(Liwonde National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sun Village Hotel(Liwonde National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
65
22
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
22
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari campboat tripshire riverplace to stayfood and drinksnice atmospherewalking tourgame drivesthe food is greatdry seasonno electricitystayed two nightsdormviewingtentparknature
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Delightful trip down the Shire River and into some quiet lagoons. The guide was very knowledgeable about the diverse birds which made our trip even more interesting. The price is reasonable and you don't have to drive all the way back to Mvuu camp to be able to take this boat trip, making it more convenient. The most exciting event we saw was the courting behavior of two crocodiles. But we also saw piles of hippos. You do need to make reservations ahead of time, so they can plan for you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed there for 2 nights and stayed in the dorm as this was more in line with our budget. Safari camps are not cheap but this one is very good value for money. The staff is super friendly (the owner came to chat with us for a bit), the food was very nice (maybe a bit pricey but we were used to cheap restaurant in other places in Malawi and I guess when you are in a National Park everything is more expensive). The dorm is great, very spacious and well designed and the toilets/showers very clean and working well. We did a few tours (walking tour, car safari and boat safari) and I can't recommend one over the others as all were great, our walking tour guide Liwonde (like the park) was the best!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

The Liwonde Safari camp is a beautiful safari camp within Linwonde Park.
Where to begin?

The camp's layout is awesome. It's mostly huts and platforms clustered around each other in the forest, with trails running all about. There are two viewing platforms that look out over the park (great for watch animals or the stars at night).

I stayed in the large dorm, which was really nice. The construction and layout is well done; there are candles one can use and the beds are also comfy.
One can camp, stay in a tent on a platform, or get a private rondal.

The food portions are large and is probably about as good as you can get in Malawi. The bar is an honor system and has a good selection and has chilled water.

The walking tour, driving tour, and boat tour are great. My personal favorite was the boat tour, but that's because we were lucky with seeing elephants.
The tour guides have AMAZING vision and are encyclopedically knowledgeable.

One warning: walking around at night is difficult (very dark). I got lost just trying to go to the bathroom. :-D

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PolishMeKnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We were on vacation in Zomba " Malawi "where our daughter and husband lives. They have taken us to Liwonde Safari camp for 2 knights. We slept in the luxury room with such a very nice view and quiet silence. Such a beautiful nature around you. No electricity or other things, just back to basic and both feed on the ground. how nice can live be! Very good food and wine + the way they cook everything, our compliments to the chefs...Also the game drives & boats are fantastic. Very friendly people . The time on Liwonde safari camp are moments to cherish.
Fam.Dons

Room Tip: The "DORMS" are also very nice . They made low walls between 2 are 3 beds so you can still have a little bit privacy .
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibiana2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed twice, once as a group of six in October and once as a three in April. Both times we enjoyed our stay- in the dry season in October there was a lot more wildlife in the park and on our game drive, compared to the end of the rains in April. The camp is nice, friendly cooks and guides. The food is fine although both food and drinks a bit expensive, to be expected as they have to bring supplies in and run their generator/gas fridge. The tents we stayed in are nice, right in the middle of the trees and able to hear the wildlife all night. Our outer tent zip was broken the second time and never fixed, but wasn't too much of an issue. Malawian parks can't really compete with Zambian or South African but we really enjoyed the birds and elephants and hippos, not expecting to see big cats or rhino. I hear they're introducing rhino and leopards so if that works then the park should be even more interesting!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank ajramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews