We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VEry good place to stay to visit the Liwonde park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liwonde National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Liwonde Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Very nice place to stay! Staff is great, dormitory are very cosy for a safari camp, shared showers are just perfect and efficient. Food was good and simple.
The organisation of the boat trip and game drive were really great. William was a fantastic guide, knowing a lot about nature. Walking safari was also fantastic.
Price are really ok compared to other place in the area

Room Tip: In low season, dormitory was great cause we were the only guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travellers2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

Very rustic bush camp on a par with South African backpackers accommodation. The boat trip on the Shire was great as was the game drive in Liwonde. Our guide was very knowledgeable and professional. We used the dormitory which was fairly basic but no complaints. Very nice hot showers and food was basic but good. Staff were very friendly. The camp is rough around the edges but an authentic experience, particularly for those visiting Africa for the first time.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank steelew2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

This camp has a perfect environment for campers and people looking for a luxurious tent and have the full safari spirit. Elephants just walking past the tents, monkeys in the trees, birds everywhere. Go for it. The boat safari is a nice add-on to a morning self drive/safari tour.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marjolein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Very good, We stayed in comfortable tent rooms. There are also shared dorms (also comfortable, at least when not too full) and camping. Bit of a trip to shared loos and showers; I imagine these could get pretty busy when the place is full.

Food was fine but quite limited; adequate rather than good.

Boat safari especially good; well over a hundred hippos, lots of elephants (in the distance), lots of birds. Best in the afternoon; but be warned that it leaves around 2:00, much earlier than 'typical' afternoon Safari time.

I missed the truck safari, but my wife said they had the best possible views of huge numbers of elephants (almost TOO close) and other animals. Quite a lot of driving to and fro the main part of the park for that safari; Mvuu would be better for that (but absurdly more expensive).

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reluctanttraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Slept in the dorm. They have option for camping and private rooms. Water was warm and clean toilets. Food and drinks was not included but can be ordered at the kitchen/bar or bring your own food.
Highly recommend the boat safari. It was wonderfull!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank bobje001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Liwonde Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liwonde Safari Camp

Address: Liwonde National Park, Liwonde National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Liwonde National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Liwonde National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing