We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Petra with Discovery Expeditions & Adventures!”

Petra World Heritage Site
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Private Petra Round-Trip Transfers from Amman with Optional Local Guide and...
More Info
US$48.75*
and up
Petra by Night Tour Ticket
More Info
US$199.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Petra from Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A UNESCO World Heritage Site, Petra (ancient capital city of the Nabataean people) recently proclaimed as one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See Petra with Discovery Expeditions & Adventures!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This past month we went to view the ancient city of Petra with some good friends we've made over the years. There James are Jim and Carol and they run a tour and travel business called Discovery Expeditions and Adventures, or Discoveryxa if you are looking them up on the internet. They really know their stuff and love the history of everywhere they visit. We rode camels with them and got to admire the beauty of Petra and be up close and personal with history. It was one of the most fantastic journeys of my life. I would advise everyone go there once, it is eerie, but beautiful. Call Jim and Carol! They were great!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,449
    897
    205
    92
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Go early”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Petra is, without doubt, a truly amazing place. They say it could take 3 days to see every part of it properly. Once off the main Amman - Aqaba road, the secondary roads are single track only. The morning I visited no fewer than 50 tour buses laden with passengers from cruise ships were traveling on convoy. Thankfully or taxi driver was able to overtake so we were not sandwiched. It pays to arrive very early. Most people do not walk down to the site even though this is perfectly easy and none too long. They take horses with or without carriages. Once these are in operation, the dust kicked up in the siq and in the area around the Treasury makes it very unpleasant and photography is definitely affected. Furthermore, those on foot are obliged to give way to the carriages even in narrow sections. The Treasury is fabulous. So is the amphitheater and the separate cave temples to the sides and around the corner. There are camels to ride further on though, be warned, you are going on a far shorter ride than you think and the cost is high. Tourists are easy prey. Facilities for eating are extremely limited. You can stay locally, and would need to if you intend to visit the site more than one day. otherwise, there is a bus 4 hours to and from Amman or you can stay in Aqaba and take a taxi or a bus tour from there. Definitely a must see though.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank MasafiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Put it very high on your list of places to visit before you die.”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Astonishing! Totally unique. It's stepping back 5 centuries & being amazed that a civilization was able to create such a wonder. Where very comfortable clothing & shoes. I'm really glad that we went in the Spring when it was quite warm enough. It's in a desert so in the Summer???

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Petra is one of the most magnificent places we have been to, the colours and the scenery are fantastic. Everything about it is mind boggling, definitely worth a visit but make sure you wear comfortable walking shoes and are prepared to walk a long way (you can catch a horse, donkey or camel if you really need to)

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideSC021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I visited Petra with my daughter(27), who has cerebral palsy; she has balance problems and can't walk long distances so we were a little bit nervous about how we would cope. As it turned out, it was no problem. We were able to take the carriage ride all the way to the basin and back, with an hour and a half in between to explore a bit (40JD). The ground is definitely not suitable for a wheelchair as it's sandy or rocky everywhere; but I believe you can stay in the carriage the whole time and just ask the driver to stop where you wish if you are unable to walk at all. The ride through the siq was amazing; the sheer sides of pink rock and the clip-clop of the horses hooves echoing atmosphercally -and the first view of the treasury was as fantastic as we'd heard - brilliant! We passed tombs and the theatre and the street of facades; whetting our appetite on the way. Once there we strolled along the colonnaded street and came upon a troop of costumes Bedouin Guard, drilling to the beat of a huge drum. The joy of visiting at this time of year is that it's perfectly possible to take photographs with no, or very few, people in them - I'm pretty certain that would be impossible in summer time. The weather was sunny and bright and not very cold (not t-shirt weather but no need to wrap up too much - although it had snowed there the day before!). We managed to clamber up to the Great Temple and also to the Urn Tomb, for great views over the site. There were donkeys and camels everywhere so we were constantly being asked if we wanted a donkey up to the monastery or a camel ride to the treasury and back; no hassle tho', a smile and a no thank you was enough. The Jordanian people in general were always very helpful, offering assistance to Claire and I everywhere we went. Incidentally, access to Petra was free for Claire! We were slightly late back for our carriage but a helpful guy, who seemed to be organising stuff, told us our carriage wasn't there yet and he would phone. We just sat and waited until it turned up about 10 minutes later; the driver apologising profusely for being late. I bought a couple of little souvenirs and they were inexpensive; 2JD for a little stone representation of the treasure and 1JD for a fancy sand bottle. We asked the carriage driver to stop at the treasury so we could get out for some photos, and he even called across to someone to take one of us both together. We both had a wonderful time and agreed Petra deserves to be one of the new 7 wonders.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank llijorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petra World Heritage Site also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 

Been to Petra World Heritage Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing