We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel as base for Petra trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed one night in Wadi Musa at Rocky mountain hotel before setting off to explore Petra. The owner and staff were welcoming and gave us good suggestions about groceries, schedule/tips for Petra, etc. Check-in and check-out were easy and the price was very affordable compared to other places in the area and jordan in general. We like the simple, rustic feeling of the hotel. Our room was very basic, but it suited us well and the heat worked relatively well throughout the night. The highlight of our stay here was the breakfast area on the top floor of the hotel. The view from there is absolutely incredible and we spent the entire breakfast looking out the window over wadi musa. We liked the the breakfast area was decorated in typical bedouin style as well. The hotel is located at the top of wadi musa, so it gives a good vantage point. The breakfast offered was a jordanian style breakfast with bread, eggs, labneh, jams, olive oil, olives, tea, etc. and it served us well for our long day ahead in Petra. I would definitely recommend staying here for budget travelers looking for a simple place as their base in Wadi Musa.

Room Tip: be sure to pay for heat if you're there in the winter. it gets cold at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

Rocky Mountain Hotel is a clean and comfortable hotel with spectacular views overlooking Petra and Wadi Musa. Jane and all the staff could not do enough for us, check in was easy and packed lunches were prepared for our day visit to Petra. The location of the hotel is just a short taxi ride down the hill to Petra, perfect!
The managers of the hotel, also run the Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp. We dropped by for a visit one evening and were welcomed with Arabic tea and traditional food after a long day of hiking.
Both the hotel and camp are run extremely well and make your Petra experience even more personal.
I would highly recommend this charming hotel to anyone visiting Petra, great value and the warmest of welcomes.

Room Tip: Room with a mountain view, truly worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yvonneoh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 10.00 pm, check in was quick/easy, we were hungry but the kitchen was closed, no problem they opened it and served a delicious chicken/ rice and salad dish,
Great local hotel and very friendly and attentive owners.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank harrisSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

After 10 hours walked at Petra, I drove a short distance uphill through busy traffic of Wadi Musa to check in at the Rocky Mountain hotel (parking was available on street in front of the hotel). The hotel was well designed, especially the roof top bar and restaurant, and its team was helpful. Beside the gorgeous panoramic view of Petra and Wadi Musa, my room was equipped with a large comfy bed, wifi, air-conditioned and hot shower (great for healing feet / muscle pain cuz by all day hiking under strong sunlight). I enjoyed having tea after dinner and breakfast at the balcony where I could observe the whole Wadi Musa city and Petra. Such a great place to stay and relax after Petra visit.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank JimmyLovesJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Rocky Mountain is a charming hotel with the most spectacular view from the top terrace (overlooking the town Wadi Musa and the mountains of Petra) - admiring the sunsets every day I've been there was definitely one of the highlights of my stay in Jordan!
The whole staff with the owner Jane at the front is extremely friendly and professional at the same time. The rooms are immaculately clean and the breakfast they serve is tasty and filling (delicious omlettes!) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkardys263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 km away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
427 reviews
0.3 km away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
536 reviews
1.4 km away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,055 reviews
0.2 km away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
205 reviews
1.5 km away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: €20 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing