We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
8
21
20
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
21
20
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski holiday fast track minute walk plenty of hot water ski bus ski room nice stay supermarket boots bulgaria sauna
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018

My partner and I had a large room with a comfortable bed and separate bathroom with a bath and shower. Cleanliness was pretty good if you don't inspect the skirting boards and the staff were lovely. The pool was great and the sauna a nice touch. The food was a little random; doughnut and baked beans anyone? We weren't overly bothered by it though as the majority was okay. The bar was fairly well stocked but don't expect much from the pool table-there was a fantastic curve on it that allowed me a few sneaky wins! I'm not sure who organises the transfers but through Balkan, we were able to get transfers to and from the hotel.

Onsite they have an equipment room so storing skis, boards and boots becomes no issue. There is also a shuttle bus that runs to and from the mountain several times a day but be aware that they are prompt-be there 5 minutes early to avoid being left behind. We were fortunate to have the additional bonus of fast track gondola passes through this hotel and Balkan which made our week.

As a fairly fit group, we didn't mind the 15 minute walk to and from town but taxi's were available and the receptionists were more than happy to help if you required booking. There are several newsagents in close proximity too. There was also room service and washing/ironing services available although we had no need to use them.

Verdict-slightly dated in some respects but, overall, I'm impressed with the value for money and wouldn't hesitate to book at that price again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JynxByName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKirova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bansko, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear valued guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your nice experience at hotel Bansko with us! We can not be more happier to see that all our staff efforts had a point and we were able to make you as our guests to enjoy your stay!
We have some nice snowfall these days so the season seems to be at least a month longer - and no matter if you make it for this or the next one, we still will be very happy to welcome you again!
Sincere regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Which ski lesson company to use that is easy to get to from this hotel? Want lessons for myself and kinder care for my 4 year old daughter advice please .....any pictures of food in this hostel and what’s WiFi like?

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKirova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bansko, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,
Whatever ski school you choose, it would be always comfortable for you because as our guest you can use a free shuttle service which brings you to the start point of all ski schools - the bottom station of gondola lift. The ski kindergarten is situated at the upper gondola station and kids from 4 to 7 years old are welcome to join the 9 am to 4 pm classes.
Hope to welcome you in Bansko,
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in Feb 2017 for a skiing holiday, me and my fiancé, my mum and dad and my uncle. The hotel was clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. The rooms were comfortable, and the pool area was nice. However, the food was not very good at all, cold most evenings and nothing seemed to go together. Also, due to the queues at the gondola every morning, we had to leave the hotel at 7, missing out on breakfast else we had to queue for 3 hours to get up the mountain! It was about a 25 minute walk into Bansko centre from the hotel! There was also a group of about 30 Bulgarian school children in the hotel for 3 nights, and the hotel did not cater for this, so 2 nights we had to wait until much later to eat to get a table! Wouldn't stay here again, but it was adequate for a skiing holiday.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Isobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKirova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bansko, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us!
We were happy to read your positive reference about the clean and comfortable rooms along with the spacious pool area.

So sorry to find that you had so much troubles on breakfast and dinner. Our menus are improved constantly to mach the tastes of our customers, we hope that next time we would be able to offer you more diversified choice. Your comment about the quality of food and the organization of our restaurant in general would be a ground for further improvements for the next season.

Once again thank you very much for choosing Hotel Bansko, we hope that next year we will be able to offer you better quality of services!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Pirin mountains.

Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

The rooms in the hotel are pretty big, furniture somewhat dated, but the bathroom was new and everything very clean! Towels are changed daily
Room service and receptionists were really nice and helpful! Had plenty of advice on how to deal with a twisted ankle and a broken arm:)
The hotel is a bit far from the slopes (1.5km maybe?) but there are shuttle buses that take you there, and if you miss them, it's just around 20min walk!
The only con is the food -- it really is pretty bad. Either cold or just plain not tasty...... not a huge deal though- there's plenty of mehanas (traditional bulgarian restaurants) close to the hotel that serve amazing food for cheap!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kokokoszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKirova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bansko, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear valued guests,
we are happy to receive your nice comments and recommendation! Our team is doing their best to provide our guests with good service, comfort and good price. Lovely to know that we mange in most ways and will improve the rest in order to meet you with better quality of services next year!

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel was largely great. On the plus side it is very clean, the staff helpful and friendly.
The room was on the top floor, and very comfortable with good views over southern Bansko.
The food was ok, although I would say not 4 star - but a variety of choices.
The main downside is it is about 20 minutes uphill walk to town. We had to do this every morning to be at the lift queue - the hotel does do shuttle buses in the morning and afternoons, but due to the massive lift queues by 8.00, waiting for the bus would have meant a 2 hour wait for the Gondola. This isn't the hotels fault by the way! Just saying it is a little out of town - that being said had we not had to worry about catching the ski lift in time to avoid the queues it would have been fine.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKirova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bansko, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments with us! We do try on daily basis to bring you the best possible service and will proceed with our efforts to improve it. Looking forward to meeting you again for more lovely days of skiing in Bansko!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews