We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spotless and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Barleydean Suite is in the right hand wing of the house, on the ground floor.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barleydean Suite is in the right hand wing of the house, on the ground floor.
The bedroom.  Comprises super-king bed, king sofa bed, dining table for 4, wifi, TV, heating, etc. Luxury bathroom with deep bath and double shower. Toiletries and towels included.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Barleydean Suite is in the right hand wing of the house, on the ground floor.
The bedroom.  Comprises super-king bed, king sofa bed, dining table for 4, wifi, TV, heating, etc.
Luxury bathroom with deep bath and double shower. Toiletries and towels included.
Hallway. Entrance is on the right, kitchenette & bathroom on the left, & bedroom straight ahead.
The bedroom.  Comprises super-king bed, king sofa bed, dining table for 4, wifi, TV, heating, etc.
Kitchenette/dressing room.  Comprises fridge, kettle, microwave, Nespresso, iron, hairdryer, linen.
Barleydean suite is in a separate wing of the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Milton Bridge, Midlothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnmccor...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spotless and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Great location with easy access to Edinburgh. located between the A701 and A702 along a quiet lane . I would recommend this to anyone looking for somewhere to stay close to Edinburgh

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fantastic accommodation, in a lovely location, great walks in the hills. Second stay for us, we will be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2018
Thanks Julian for the review - we very much look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass73...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely cold!”
Reviewed 25 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed here before, I was so looking forward to a return visit. On arrival we discovered that the property was absolutely freezing cold, there was hot water but no heating. I sent an email to Richard who said that he knew about the problem and the heating engineer would be sorting it out. Next I was told that there was a burst pipe somewhere and that the plumber would be coming any minute, there was no activity at all. I know that boilers do break down, however, since the owner knew of the problem, I think that I should have been informed and some heaters should have been in place. After spending 3 bitterly cold nights there we had no option but to leave. (The owner was not on the premises, abroad, I was told.) disappointing

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
Hello Marion! Thank you for the review. Yes, we did have serious issues with our boiler which just happened to start when you had arrived. Due to the cold a pipe had burst elsewhere in the property, this had caused damage to several rooms around the house and were told that this had compromised the water pressure. We learnt about this I believe on the Friday afternoon of your visit, and had immediately touched base with some plumbers / heating engineers to have this restored. I did reply to your message also about this on the 16th March to give you a full update (by this time the heating engineer had been out twice already to try and rectify the problem). The following day we also messaged you on this portal to offer you a free stay for the inconvenience caused as the issue had still not been taken care of. We were doing all we could but there was a serious plumbing issue, nevertheless we wanted to compensate you with another visit. In the meantime we had also placed an order for an additional powerful heater that would have warmed up the room with no need for the central heating. Again, it's disappointing that we had issues with our boiler (it was sorted I believe after 3 days) but unfortunately there was no quick fix for this. Contingencies with the additional heater are now in place anyway.
Best Wishes,
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cormac E
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal base for Glasgow, Edinburgh and beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Once you put the post code in the GPS it is easy to find. It is in the countryside but very near arterial main roads to Glasgow and Edinburgh. Main shopping stores and centres are only a few miles away.There are easy and more challenging walks nearby.The Pentland Hills are just up the road and were beautiful covered in frost. The accommodation is very clean and spacious and very modern. Richard met us on arrival and was very welcoming and on hand if needed. We found the accommodation as described. There is no kitchen sink or cooker. A microwave, dishes, cutlery, and espresso coffee machine and fridge was provided. Milk, juice, tea, coffee, porridge, and numerous toiletries as well as many extras were very welcoming on our arrival. We highly recommend this accommodation. Recommendation to owners - a small kitchen sink and maybe a hot plate and toaster would be an idea (if possible) in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
Thank you for the review Cormac - it was very much a pleasure to have hosted you. We do hope to welcome you both some time in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing