We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
181
160
46
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
160
46
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laid back st kitts tin tin gingerbread cottages water taxi cleaned daily true caribbean taxi driver screened porch off season rooms are large four seasons just returned from a week breakfast and lunch the general manager golden rock botanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

What a bit of unspoiled paradise, with enough creature comforts to satisfy all who want to avoid the pretentious and anonymous Four Seasons, or the simply pretentious plantation resorts (although the Golden Rock is worth a visit, if only to see what unlimited money, and five star artists, designers and gardeners, can achieve). We stayed in one of the semi-detached airconditioned and comfortable Gingerbread cottages (a cute Nevisian style) with flyscreened porch, the waves breaking not 20 meters from our hammock outside our door. The casual restaurant serves very good food (a shout out to our wonderful waiters, especially Shania) and within a short time we were buddies with the expats who gather in the adjoining bar. ....live music most nights, sometimes featuring the very gentle owner, John Yearwood and his band. (Ask him about his family history which stretches back to the 17th Century Caribbean). Amy, after she leaves her post as Security Officer at the gate, shows off her magnificent jazz/blues vocal talents.....engage her in conversation: she is a very wise philosopher. Don't be intimidated by any difficulties in getting here: we flew into St Kitts, were met by a hotel-arranged taxi driver, who delivered us to Reggae Beach where a comfortable boat whisked us a cross the strait and deposited us at the Hotel's own jetty, a 30 second walk to the Reception.

Room tip: Gingerbread Cottages on the Sea
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

You have captured the essence of Oualie perfectly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Here is the email I sent to the owner and operator of the resort. The misrepresentation of this place is staggering. We came to the Oualie Beach Resort on July 6th to finish our honeymoon on Nevis. I chose the Oualie Beach Resort because of the photos I saw and the description I read. I really wanted to finish the last two days of our honeymoon relaxing on a beautiful, clean beach in a charming Caribbean cottage. Let me list all of the things that were wrong and deceptive about our stay at your resort.
* There was donkey, sheep and goat feces all over the grounds. We had to avoid stepping in it to get to our room and night when we returned to our room we had to turn our phone lights on to avoid stepping on it as well.

* There was no WiFi in our room so at the direction of the staff, we had to attempt to use WiFi from other rooms which gave us spotty reception at best and more often none. As a result, we now have an added expense to our phone bill because my wife had to get some work done online using her computer.

* Because of the WiFi situation, our Amazon Firestick did not work so we had no television or movies to watch. There was literally nothing available on the television.

* The cottage was musty smelling and the air conditioner was rattling.

* When we went down to the restaurant/bar we were met by an inebriated man who appeared to be a regular customer as everyone knew him by name. Within minutes of meeting my wife, he asked her "Are you Chinese or are you Japanese because I cannot tell the difference?" My wife is Korean. Needless to say she was insulted by this ignorant question. We were attempting to have a conversation alone but he continued to ask us questions and bother us.

* The beach chairs were old, the dock was run down, the beach was not clean-all of these things were misrepresented in the photos. I found a broken electrical outlet with a foot of wire attached to it on the beach-ridiculous!

* A loud bass sound coming from the room below us or around us went on throughout the night.

* The staff was not helpful or warm to us in any way.

* We planned on spending our time relaxing on the beach at the resort but in reality, we only slept there because we found other, more pleasant places to spend our time.

I would like to speak to Mr. Yearwood about getting a full or partial refund. We were extremely unhappy with everything about our stay and I was saddened that my plans to spoil my new bride were ruined.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ngdscd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

So sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. You are absolutely right. We have never fenced off the property so are visited regularly by wild donkeys, troupes of chattering monkeys, turtles nesting on the beach, goats and sheep grazing the lawns in the dry season and even the odd cow wandering through. Yes, they leave their calling cards that our gardener, Nelson, carefully collects and stores as our source of organic fertiliser. Yes, wifi on a small Caribbean island is never going to be perfect! Yes, we operate a bar with reasonable pricing that attracts resident expats and locals. Yes, occasionally too much alcohol is consumed and political correctness may be ignored. Most of our guests love the opportunity to meet and mingle with real locals rather than just fellow visitors. Sadly that was not so in your case. We do appologise for not meeting your expectations and hope that you will visit us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

This place is lovely. Relaxing setting with plenty to watch throughout the day. Beach is clean and perfect for families with young ones as well as for couples looking for a quiet setting. Room was good, serviced every day and clean. Beach bar and restaurant are great for dinin' and limin'.

They will even fix you up with your own personal taxi for your stay, Clayton was ours and he was always on hand whenever and wherever.

Would definitely go back if we return to the island. Thanks for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

So happy that you enjoyed a relaxing stay. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

This is a great place, right on the beach with fantastic views across to St Kitts. Music night on tuesday is very popular and the performers are great.

Everyone there is really friendly.

Highly recommended

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank KeithL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thanks for the kind words and recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

My wife and I went to Oualie in May on recommendation of some friends who were regulars. Must be the best beach on the island and in a fabulous position. The 'cottages ' were right on the beach and kept in reasonable condition. The bed linen was changed almost every day and the place kept very clean overall, hopefully we are going back next May. John and the staff could not have been more welcoming and we definitely left as friends. Tuesday music nights are great and everyone's welcome to join in, its a must do when your there.

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank kenneth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

I agree that Oualie is definitely the best beach in the Fedeartion. See you again next May!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews