We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families or Fishing. Everyone is Happy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountain Home
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Buffalo Resort
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have stayed at this resort several years in a row and see no reason to change. At first we did not ask a lot from the resort owners except for a clean place to stay while we fished. They delivered. No problem. But as we planned more trips more friends and family began wanting to come along. This compounded the things we ask of the resort. The last few trips we have had several families combining vacations and the mix went from being some adult fishermen to several generations of families with children ranging from newborn to late teens. This place makes everyone happy. It is clean and attractive. well laid out and right on the river. With so many different cabins it allows any family to find the right size lodging for their needs. The owners worked closely with me as we tried to schedule a time when everyone could make it for the same long weekend. I personally travel over 12 hours to get here and it is worth every minute. Love this place and will keep coming back for as long as I can.

Room Tip: Go to the website and look at cabin locations. Ask for the location that works best for you.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camarocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for White Buffalo Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

I spent a 5 day Father and Son camp here and it was fantastic.

The dads fished about 45 trout the whole trip!

The lodges were very warm and comfortable. I've been to a few ski lodges were it always seems a little drafty. These lodges heated up so quickly, especially when the fireplaces were turned on.

I read from one of the comments that the beds were terrible. Well, sure, they're not posturepedic memory foam beds but they were comfortable. Some people don't have a sense of proportion.

The hosts were extremely hospitable and very helpful. I can't say enough good things about them.

One day we hiked the bluff which rises more than 300 feet high and while looking over the cliff a bald eagle flies eye level to us not more than 40 feet away! A BALD EAGLE! What a sight. It's one thing to see one at the zoo and another to see it far away in the wild but 40 feet away on top of the cliff! Simply unforgettable.

The view was fantastic, the lodging was fantastic, the fishing was fantastic and the owners were above and beyond what was expected.

I may sound like a commercial but I guarantee that I'm simply one satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

The white buffalo property is right on the river and the views are remarkable! We stayed in our travel trailer in an RV spot. They have full hookup and sites with electric and water only.

We did not stay in a cabin but they have cabins as well.

There is a small pool on site and pavilion for family get togethers.

If you love to trout fish...this is your paradise. You can fish from the bank, bring or rent a boat or get a guide to take you fishing. The property is right next to the public access if you bring your own boat. So, it's very convenient. While we were there, we saw an eagle swoop up some lunch just across the water from us while we were fishing!!

The bathrooms and shower facilities were very clean. The only thing that the property could add would be washer/dryer facilities.

The area is beautiful and serene, but close to the city if you need anything. The staff is very helpful if you need anything!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank luvtotravel920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here in a deluxe cabin and had a great time just like we have had in the past. It was rainy and the creeks had made the White River at the resort muddy, too muddy to fish. The owners called and found out that the State Park area was clear and had boats to rent, gave us a map and we had a great 2 days of fishing trout with the kids. Next time we hope the weather cooperates but this resort is always helpful and caring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaS7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Olwell, Owner at White Buffalo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

We're happy to help, Lisa. Thanks for your kind words, and we hope for better weather on your NEXT trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed 4 days in the middle of July, clean cabins and resort. Cabin was stocked with all the kitchen supplies you could need. Great location on the White. Staff was very polite and helpful. They know the area and gave good suggestions on places to go and visit. I did not fish but there were plenty of boats on the water if fishing is you thing.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin, good AC well supplied and clean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Olwell, Owner at White Buffalo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you, Chris! We love suggesting ways to make your vacation more enjoyable and relaxing. Hope to see your family down this way again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Home
18.2 km away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
61 reviews
21.3 km away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
291 reviews
21.4 km away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#6 of 16 in Mountain Home
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
333 reviews
21.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
32.9 km away
Norfork Lake Ozark Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Buffalo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Resort

Address: 418 White Buffalo Trl, Mountain Home, AR 72653-7719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mountain Home
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mountain Home
Price Range: €19 - €285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Buffalo Resort rents 9 riverfront cedar log Cabins & Lodges, 6 Camper Cabins, 7 shady Full Hook-Up RV sites & 17 Campsites all overlooking the beautiful White River. We rent jonboats, canoes and kayaks. Whether you come for the legendary trout fishing or the premier small mouth fishing or just to escape to the beauty of the Ozarks, you'll make memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing