We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No beef left on a Sunday”

The Parrot and Punchbowl
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aldringham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 21 October 2020

We booked last Sunday for lunch for four of us at 2.15. We were shown to our table and asked for drink and lunch order. We ordered three beef and one chicken. About 20 mins later were told the beef had run out but were very surprised to see tables who had arrived after us served with beef. On querying this found out that the waitress who had served us had failed to put in the order and by the time she did so they had run out. The management were very apologetic and we ordered something else. The owner had suddenly disappeared. To their credit they did give us a 50% discount on our food menu but it was the disappointment about the meal as it was the last day of our holiday.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan499616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

The Parrot was recommended as were staying we in the area for a couple of nights. It was an excellent recommendation! Apart from a thoroughly enjoyable meal (shoulder of lamb in particular) we were very impressed with the prompt and very friendly service. A great boost in these difficult times.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 22JR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

Would highly recommend this super little pub for a truly delicious Sunday lunch. We booked for 2pm but the party behind us were sadly disappointed as the beef lunch had run out so book early rather than later. The staff were friendly and attentive and dealt with the very moany party who missed out on the beef professionally and kindly (they really did moan and were quiet unpleasant to the poor staff who were trying their very best to make a busy covid safe environment for us all) Death by chocolate highly recommended!

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katoe3216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020

We visited the Parrot on Monday evening and were efficiently greeted and seated Covid-19 secure. Made to feel welcome and had beetroot and Haloumi starter and then shoulder of lamb - tender and well seasoned - fellowdiner had the baked cod tail with winter vegetables which was perfect! We were too full to have dessert as the portions are very generous.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the food here.

Soup was nice. Scallops were nice.

Cod tail was tasteless and undercooked.

Desert (poached pears) was sickly sweet and unimpressive.

I expected so much more. As gastropubs go, this was a disappointment

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Gadabout1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parrot and Punchbowl also viewed

 

Been to The Parrot and Punchbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.