We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mediocre food”

The Parrot and Punchbowl
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aldringham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 October 2020 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the food here.

Soup was nice. Scallops were nice.

Cod tail was tasteless and undercooked.

Desert (poached pears) was sickly sweet and unimpressive.

I expected so much more. As gastropubs go, this was a disappointment

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Gadabout1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2020

We had pre-booked the Parrot for an evening meal, as we were away in Suffolk for just a couple of days. They have created an inviting, cosy atmosphere; yet you feel safe in these current uncertain times. We were directed immediately to a lovely table in a little nook, by the window. We shared some chicken wings to start, which were very tasty (although personally, we prefer ours a little more charred looking). We both had the ribeye, which was cooked superbly; a lovely piece of meat presented wonderfully. Accompanied by a very delicious Shiraz, from a well-chosen wine list. We finished our meal with a shared cheese platter and some great Suffolk iced cider. We really were made to feel extremely welcome and the food was top notch. An excellent place to dine!

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank marlboroughboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020

We had booked a table for two here at the end of a short holiday in Suffolk before our return home to Bedfordshire.
The food, service and ambience here were all excellent. We felt perfectly safe and all Covid regulations were adhered to.

The menu is far above your usual "pub fayre" and offered many tempting meals.
My husband chose the scallops followed by the lamb shoulder followed by brioche marmalade bread and butter pudding and thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful.
As a vegetarian, I chose the harissa hummus with warm pitta bread, which I didn't want to end as it was so wonderfully tasty. This was followed by the leek and celeriac tartefine with balsamic dressing and new potatoes. Oh boy was it good. I can honestly say it was the best vegetarian meal I have eaten in a long time.

During these current difficult times, please support this local hostelry and keep it going. Their hard work should be appreciated by locals and visitors alike.

Great place.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thewelltravelled2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020

Despite the inevitable barriers put up by face masks and visors the staff did all they could to make us welcome - and indeed just to be normal! The food was very good indeed. One way I sometimes choose in a restaurant is to eliminate various things that I know I don't want - here I couldn't eliminate anything! Good atmosphere, temperature, parking, loos. Resonably priced too.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterf843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

Had a delicious lunch in this quaint village pub. Liked that the menu offered more unusual choices and the specials board offered further choice. Very friendly and efficient staff - felt very safe.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parrot and Punchbowl also viewed

 

Been to The Parrot and Punchbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.