We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$488
US$169
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$235
US$176
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Punta Cana(Bavaro)
US$252
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$190
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Bavaro Palace(Bavaro)
US$388
US$318
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$544
US$331
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$243
US$213
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (14,014)
Filter reviews
14,014 results
Traveller rating
8,452
3,268
1,370
577
347
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,452
3,268
1,370
577
347
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreferred clubcarnival buffetbluewater grillentertainment teampreferred poolbig daddyantonio banderaspreferred statusmoments barpreferred areaspice restaurantpreferred roompunta canatropical viewbruno marsscooby doofire show
Filter
Updating list...
906 - 911 of 14,014 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

What an amazing holiday....

Hotel was beautiful.
Staff amazing Rafael was our butler and he was unbelievable he organised a romantic meal on the beach which ended up been great crack cause we couldn't see what we were eating... haha at this point Caesar was our waiter he couldn't of been more helpful.
When we return to room Rafael had rose petals on bed leading out to the jacuzzi bath filled with oils and petals. (Be aware bath water stays really hot for a long time).
Breakfast and lunch in castaway was really nice staff was lovely here too they set up a table full of flowers 1 morning for there "family" it was lovely.
Pools were great izmarly (I know I've got her name spelt wrong) looked after us very well at the preferred pool bar we always had a drink in our hand.


Pay the extra and go preferred it's amazing they treat you like royality.

Japanese table was highlight of the evening food tho really enjoy it but the rest of the food was fair was hoping for better service in restaurant were very rushed eat drink and get out kinda feeling...
some of the restaurant were closed which was annoying as there was a wait of a least an hour in all the other ones... ending eating in buffet big mistake cold un inviting food.

Overall paradise it was would I go back yes.....

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lizcuddihy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager D, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Lizcuddihy,

We are glad reading about the amazing holidays you had at Now Larimar Punta Cana. Furthermore that our team in charged to make your stay particularly special, from the dinner at the beach to the flowers in the table. It is an honor to know you would return to our hotel.

Please let us know when you return. It will be a pleasure to host you again.

Best regards,

Gianluca Pezzolla
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Firstly I have to say this is not a five star or even a four star hotel but closer to a standard 3 star and that is based on our expectations having traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean.
Our main concern was that the hotel in low season (now) allows its doors to be opened to the general public at this time of year to make money and no one can blame them for that- but tour operators need to tell their clients and give them a choice whether to stop there or not.
Normally I would say each to their own but when you book a weeks R&R you are not expecting to go to a club 18/30 hotel and unfortunately that is exactly what this place turns out to be from Thursday morning to Sunday afternoon the week we were there - I will run through what we had to put up with last week at this hotel:
Started reasonably ok with DJ box on the side of the main pool playing loud music and doing the aerobics this we did not like but it was at this point still acceptable - Babyface led the entertainments team making holiday games fun for those wanting to take part and we sat by the separate swim up pool bar pool and it was nice.
The food was a little hit and miss on days in the buffet as was the waiter service you can ask all you want for a cup of tea but I found it easier in the mornings to just get my own but then for some reason they do not like you doing that but as I will explain later it got worse as the week went on.
Rooms are nice - ours had a separate room for the sink, Jacuzzi, toilet and shower, the shower was a walk in one with a large thick privacy glass door as was the toilet, there were the normal things on the side of the sink such as bottles of hair shampoo, shower gel and body lotion and towels but we had to ask for face cloths ( I would have thought these would be standard in all rooms) , the toilet is where we had a problem - because of the plumbing they ask you not to put the paper down the loo as it blocks up the system so you have to put it in a fliptop bin in the loo which is the only bin in the bathroom so this was not ideal ( last time we did this was back in 1980 in Cyprus) so they need to upgrade their pipe system asap.
Fridge was stocked on arrival with 2 normal strength beers and 2 light beers and half a dozen bottles of pop + 4 bottles of water getting it refilled seemed to be a small issue, it states it should be done daily but I used to have to ask the lad to do ours or we had to ask for refills over the phone but they came pretty quickly - would have been better if the lad had looked in the fridge each day when he did come he only wanted to sell us rum for $5 a bottle. Now I know that some people say these are poor people and need the extra but on Thursday it became clear to us that they are not all so poor and that Leads me to what spoiled our holiday.
In low season from Thursday they open the doors to everyone - my complaint is it turned into something like an club 18/30 holiday extremely loud music with very heavy base and it switched from European and Dominican music to just Dominican very loud music, food being thrown into the pool and of course people being sick in the pool which meant it had to be cleaned, but it was taken over by a lot of people and they all seemed to be in the pools and they go crazy- even our rep said it is noisy - to say we were unhappy was an understatement. most other guests seemed to go down to the beach which is where we went as I do not like foam parties and constantly loud music from morning to pool closure at around 6 oclock
The other problems that arose from such a large number of people coming into the hotel was that buffet restaurants could not cope - they could not get you a table for half an hour, they would run out of food and the queues for food became unacceptable and some people do not like to queue, in the end we just went down to the beach buffet and had burgers. by Sunday the hotel had started to run out of things like sparkling wine, rose' wine at the dinner and buffet restaurants and Monday morning they ran out of beer and coca cola - who runs a hotel that runs out of beer??.
On the subject of drinks I can only say that I like a drink and normally when it gets to about lunch time I normally say to the wife I have had enough and go onto soft drinks but this time I could drink all day and never felt the need to refrain - which is sometimes a good thing.
All in all I have to say if you want a quiet holiday consider another hotel if you like the fun and games and loud music go to the Now Larimar.
Finally they did not seem to have had too bad a time through the hurricanes they had lost the tops of some of the palm trees and were starting to cut down the broken branches.
I think had we come at a different time of year we may have had a different view of things but at this time of year it is a noisy hotel.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Dado 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Now Larimar was blast! We had 14 close friends and family stay for a week for my wife and I's wedding on the beach. As the lucky couple, NOW upgraded our rooms to Preferred/Ocean View as a wedding gift! the room was very nice and the staff did a fantastic job keeping our room clean and also steamed our dress and suit. They gave us a complimentary symbolic beach wedding with guest chairs, champagne, a beautiful wedding cake, a nice ceremony table, mic and speaker setup, and a helpful coordinator. We sprung extra for tiki torches with tropical flowers, an extra flower bouquets for her maid of honor and a boutonniere for my best man. It was a beautiful $108 wedding lol. It really was perfect!
The resort was well maintained. They kept it very clean, had a decent entertainment team, and the food was pretty good. The drinks were okay. We have been to Now Jade in Mexico where every drink was hand crafted in a blender on the spot but that was not the case here. All of the frozen drinks at NOW Larimar were out of smoothie machines and had a generic slushi flavor to them.
The beach was decent. They kept it clean of litter and had plenty of lounge chairs yet lots of space to lay out. We had a great time playing volley ball. Although there was tons of sea weed the staff worked hard to keep it cleared. My only complaint is the slushi drinks, although at this price point, I'm really just being picky i guess!
A quick shout out to Doylestown Travel for setting us up with all the Apple perks at a discounted rate! They were easy to work with even though I live in St. Louis and they are in PA. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank ericstl2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This was a couple's vacation for my bday at the end of September, from September 26 to October 3. This was our first time in the DR, and overall I would have to say that it was a great experience to have. We originally booked at Now Garden which is just up the way in the same complex (as there are 2 hotels in a complex), and for a reasonable price they offered for us to upgrade to Now Larimar. We were surprised to see that everything was open, given a busy hurricane season. All restaurants and the buffet were open, including all the amenities.

The room: The room was fairly big, as we had a pool view. We stayed in room 2323, which has a very nice view. The room was clean, it had a fairly big bathroom, with a Jacuzzi tub, which we did not use. Not interested in it. The minibar was restocked daily, and at any point that you need something, you'd call the minibar service and someone would come up within minutes to offer what you need. Also we would receive about 2 calls a day from the main desk asking if everything was in working order and if we needed anything. That was very nice to see, and expected in a 5 star hotel.

Cleanliness: The resort is very clean and there are people there working all day long to keep it that way. It was very impressive to see. Given the busy hurricane season, the beach had seaweed washing up on it, but there were people from early morning cleaning the beach. The maid came twice a day, once around mid day, and once in the evening for turnover service. They did an excellent job.

Food: We have tried 4 of the restaurants, and we found that they were very good. We stuck to the buffet for most of the vacation because of the variety, and the food there was very good. Also, at the buffet, Modesto and Miguel who work there, were very amazing staff, which was the main reason we kept going back to the buffet. Food quality overall was very good.

The Beach and ocean: The sand was white and clean, no rocks and no litter, just the seaweed that washed up every night on the shore. Other than that, the beach was very nice, given that every one said that the DR has bad beaches. It wasn't the case here. The water has seaweed floating around, but not enough to stop us from being in the water. It can expected after the high number of hurricanes in the season. The water was warm and very pleasant to be in.

The Pool: There, we didn't really spend much time, as we came to the DR for the ocean. Other than that, the water was cold, the bar was well stocked, and there are always bartenders walking around asking you if you want something to drink or replenishing your drink.

Amenities: At Now Garden, there is a basketball court and tennis court. At Now Larimar, they have a spa and a gym which is small, but well stocked. The gym had regular traffic throughout the week we were there. Also, the club. We went there one evening to try it out, it is small and loud. Too loud for the size of it. It only had 1 bartender, and about 20 people lining up to order drinks.

Entertainment: The entertainment team worked very hard day and night to make the guests entertained. They had a sunny day and rainy day schedule during the day, which went from yoga to zumba to beach volleyball to auctions with fake money. At night, they had a different show every evening, and they were all very entertaining. They worked really hard to do it, and they were very excellent. Also, very worth to mention, the in-house band that played in the evening before the show, they were very very good. There was this one kid who plays the saxophone, and he was just amazing at it. Also the guy on the electric guitar did an awesome job.

Staff: Some of the staff worth mentioning that really made this vacation seem very fun and made the resort seem from a 5 star a 6 star, was Modesto and Miguel from the buffet, those guy are the best. From the entertainment team, it was Choco, Baby Face, Skinny Boy, and Blacky. They worked very hard during the day to get people to participate in activities, and at night they did the same during the pre-show activities.

The Pros: There are plenty of these, as the stay was excellent. There are people always ready to help you, and the staff is very pleasant. The weather was pleasant, with some rain only on the Sunday while we were there. The food is excellent, the rooms are comfortable. The overall stay excellent.

The Negatives: Over the weekend, the resort opened up the gates to the locals. Now, this would never be an issue, but they came out of everywhere. Besides that, the locals are very rude. They cut ahead of you everywhere, they are loud, they push and shove, they take your seats at the entertainment plaza while you go up and go to the washroom and leave your seat taken with your belongings. That we really didn't appreciate about the resort. Over the weekend, the pool got very busy with locals, there was no seats available, and they were extremely loud. Also, one of the American guys we met there, was roofied at the club one night by 3 Dominican girls who tried to have him go off the resort with them and engage in sexual acts, probably ending up in a lot worse than that. Luckily, he was able to call security and they escorted him back to his room safely and I'm guessing that they took the girls off the resort.

Overall, this vacation was great. I would recommend this resort anyone who wants to go there. Just be careful around the locals.

Room Tip: Chose the pool side view rooms in Now Larimar. Great view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L0randP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager D, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear L0randP,

Receive our gratitude for allowing us at Now Larimar Punta Cana to host you during such a important holiday like your birthday. It was an honor to be your destination for your first trip to Punta Cana.

Your detailes comments provides others travelers with a wide perspective about the experience they can have visiting our hotel. Let us add how glad it makes us feel to read that, in addition to the service, entertainment, room comfort and our team attentions, it led you to have an "excelente" experience.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Gianluca Pezzolla
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We just left the resort today and miss it already. The staff went over and above to make my daughter and I feel special. Chef Manuel is a master chef! Everything he made for us was delicious. Our server most of the time was Wilkin and he treated us like family from the first day. The manager of the restaurants is Juan. He has a talent for keeping the restaurants moving smoothly and has a great sense of humour.

The entertainment team was filled with energetic, fun people who weren't pushy when we just wanted to relax but helped us have a good time.

We were upgraded to preferred when we arrived which was a great surprise. I had read reviews about the preferred club that said it wasn't any better but I totally disagree. We had two exclusive pools. One day there were guests who weren't preferred at the pool and the manager discreetly asked them to go to the main pool.
Also, the restaurant by the beach was just for us and the food was great!
Preferred included butler service as well so Rafael took good care of us by making sure we had everything we needed every day.
Overall this resort is great! The beach is amazing and if there are any little flaws they are soon forgotten because the people are so outgoing and friendly.
We will be going back again soon!

Stayed: October 2017
4  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager D, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Teresa D,

Receive our gratitude for choosing Now Larimar Punta Cana for your holidays. We are pleased confirming that you had an "excelente" experience and even remember our staff and how they participated to make your stay more comfortable.

Let us emphasize, as you mention, Preferred Club provides guests the opportunity to access to additional services to enhance their stay.

Our doors are open to host you again.

Best regards,

Gianluca Pezzolla
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews