We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Bavaro
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Dominica republic was my destination for celebrating my graduation from Florida International University with my significant other given that the resort is adult only all-inclusive I knew right away this was going to be the best time of my life! From the moment I walked to the front desk Angelica was so hospitable, so tender and genuine. Welcome drinks left and right starting off my vacation the right way. The 24 bar was a great touch considering the occasion. The lobby had a certain smell that made you feel at home and welcomed. A special thank you to all my friends in the D.R. Ery from the Pool Bar, Rafael the best Butler every!!!!! Melvin so sweet at the front desk helping with my medical needs and always helping count US dollars to Pesos lol. :) Alfredo from the destinations tour tables for helping straighten out our excursions, Abdul, Dany the hibachi cook so funny with his dinner jokes, Ester and Yudi. A piece of me stayed in Ibero Star Grand Hotel Bavarro. The service brought me to tears multiple times considering I am in the hospitality industry and I recognize exceptional service when given. From the gorgeous room to the beach side chairs, all you can eat buffet, late night boat karaoke & dancing, to the night shows by the Star Girls and Boys. The theatre was filled with so much talent, so much emphasis in each song sang, each dance danced. The intensity was ridiculous; so modern and with the times despite the language difference. These people are very hard workers and all deserve to be recognized for all their efforts. So much love everywhere you go in Dominica Republic, La isla de Catalina day adventure, swimming with the Dolphins and Dun Bugging was a great touch outside the resort TRY IT! Destiny will take you where you are supposed to go. I know I will go back and see all my friends there ready to help me make more beautiful memories. Thank you Ibero Star for everything you did for me, and everything I took with me from you.

Sincerely,

Angel and Yami <3

Room Tip: Ocean View with a tub, very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Yamileika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro.

It's such a pleasure to read that we have accomplished your expectations and have given you the impressive service that we always accustomed. We appreciate a lot your words, which describe exactly the impression we like to leave in every single guest. We shared your comment with those you mentioned.

One more time, thanks for your words. Do not hesitate to contact us in case that you need assistance with your next booking, which we hope to be pretty soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Online Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 233 of 10,135 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed it so much we made return visit to this all-inclusive.

Ocean Front room again. Nice!

This was our 2nd consecutive year to visit in August and we stayed the last week before the renovation. Last August was not busy and we almost had the place to ourselves this time.

We were spoiled and had the run of restaurants, bars and pool spots. I wonder what improvements they will make? One month renovating! We were also lucky to miss hurricane Irma that just missed DR this week. Glad to see they missed the brunt of it.

Played two rounds of golf at the resort course and they had the back nine closed. Didn't know that until I arrived . Played the front nine 4 times over two days and like the resort, peeps were sparse. Saw 4 other golfers. Food and beer cart always handy. Presidente helps my swing. Who knew? Coffee in clubhouse was $$, which was odd but no biggie.

My wife enjoyed the pools, friendly pool service from Hamlet, and choice of cabana. I enjoyed the cigars and endless cocktails. Cheers!

Restaurants were open and no reservations needed as the guests were much fewer than normal. We ended up at our favorite Japanese steakhouse twice. We finally tried Mamajuanana. Tasty! Cheers again!

Ate SO much lobster! Delicioso!

Did the water spinning, archery, and bingo bingo bingo! Activity staff is fun!

A few small criticisms:
Like I said, spoiled with so few guests but they overdid the butler service. We met no less than three and it was confusing if we needed to request something. Who to ask? Attentive, almost competitive and we ended up re-telling some of the same request as they came around.

Rooms for us northern folk need to be cooler than 20 Celsius (68 but it didn't feel it). We were told that's as cool as it gets. Our Butler got it lower and that helped.

The Billiards room was wayyyy hot. Again, they said that 23 was as cool as possible. Really?

We never could get the Nescafé coffee / espresso thing to work in the room. Either trip. Yes, we had the same exact room. As requested.

We spent a lot of time in the Ocean Front room last year, but this 2nd trip we chilled out in the up front lounge areas and cigar bar and that was an enjoyable experience for us. Entertaining with the talent you have and we even went to the small club on the "boat".

Anyway, recommended this place before and will do again. Can't wait to come back and see all the improvements around the pool and rooms.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank jayhawkmike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro as your holidays destination.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the experience despite the points to enhance that you highlighted. We are under renovation right now so the hotel management team will take notes about those aspects to improve in services and accommodation.

Once again, thanks for the comment and we all hope welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

high end resort. great food, really enjoyed the day boat trip, rooms ok, nothing five star but service was some of the best we have experienced. Some of the best nightly entertainment we have been exposed to as well

Stayed: February 2017
5  Thank henrik04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro. It has been a pleasure welcome you in our property and make the experience enjoyable.

Our entire team hope welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro in February 2017. This was a trip planned with several couples. Unfortunately, the experience started off on the wrong foot. All the couples except my wife and I were placed in appropriate rooms. We had arranged for a swim out suite through our travel agent, but the hotel placed us in a regular room. We were looking forward to the swim out suite because several other couples had them as well. This lead to at least a 2-hour adventure at the front desk involving calls to my travel agent (who produced all the paper work immediately) and reservations out of Miami for the hotel. The onsite hotel management could not make a decision to save their lives. We eventually landed in a swim out suite, but the saga continued well into the next day. The stance of the hotel management was they were doing us a favor - not apologetic for bungling our reservation. For such a beautiful hotel, I was left with a very disappointing experience. We made the best of it with our friends, but I would struggle to recommend this hotel to others based on our experience.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank tantczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro.

We are so sorry about your uncomfortable experience you have had with us. We would have loved make the stay enjoyable since the beginning, but we had a mistake on your reservation, your agency booked the wrong room type, that's why you had to wait until the necessary changes were made. We apologize for the drawbacks of your experience.

Our team hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and make the experience perfect from the start. If you decide to give us the chance, do not hesitate to contact us in advance.

Regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I want to thank Dany, Yudi, Yissel, Rafael and Jose for their great customer service. IBEROSTAR Bavaro is a true resort. Everything was nice and clean. The staff is so helpful and kind, constantly smiling and asking you if everything okay. My holiday in the DR was exceptional. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Candie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro as your holidays destination.

Our team will be glad to know that you enjoyed the services they provided you. We have shared your review with those you mentioned. Thanks for pointing the cleanliness.

Once again, thanks for the comment; we will be pleased to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
5.2 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
22.1 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,386 reviews
1.5 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
4.3 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
0.4 km away
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range: €328 - €752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A resort is more than a place to rest—it’s where day dreams become vacation reality. Resorts should be places that celebrate life, where fantasies are conjured into existence. We provides a tailored, adults-only, all-inclusive vacation designed by each guest to match their vacation desires. At IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro, old-world charm meets modern amenities. Those who choose to stay with us receive personalized butler service, European linens, and impeccably designed rooms. They’ll also enjoy specialty restaurants, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and an oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda and LoveHolidays so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing