We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great value and beautiful spot in Sosua”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brittany...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and beautiful spot in Sosua”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a very nice week in this Villa in the Ocean Villages resort. Ruslin was a great host. He met us around 1AM after our flight got in. He showed us where everything was and helped us get settled in. He also stopped in the next day to check in with us and each day would drop off a water cooler bottle on our doorstep. He lives in the same community and is accessible, but after the first few days we did not see him so he was not intrusive at all. We also loved Osbaldo who came by to take care of the pool and landscaping each weekday. The guards were also very friendly and we always felt safe. There are 3 guard stations to get past. The community is very well maintained. They have trash pickup daily. They also have a restaurant Al Porto that is a short walk away at the ocean. We would definitely consider going here again!

Pros:
1) Very modern and clean house with a great layout. Each room is like its own suite with a full bathroom. One room has a pull out loveseat with a bed that was perfect for our toddler travelling with us. There is also an additional half bath off the kitchen. It was nice to have a kitchen and we stayed in and cooked several nights.
2) Private pool! My son was in the pool by 9AM everyday. And then while he napped, we could relax by the pool just outside his room. There are also several other community pools that you can go to.
2) Close to Monkey Jungle great ziplining and you can feed squirrel monkeys (across the street in Choco park but 6km down a very bumpy road- need a SUV).
3) Everything in Sosua area was very reasonably priced and close. We had dinner and watched the sunset at La Puntilla de Pier Giorgio which had good food and drinks for very good prices. I would also recommend Playa Alicia. This public beach has beautiful views of the sunset and was very clean and safe. There are guards and employees that sell chairs and umbrellas that they will set up for you but you don't need to purchase anything.
4) There are individual air conditioning units in each room so it was nice we could all control our own rooms temperatures. We left the windows open in the main kitchen area and got great breezes but kept our bedroom cool.
5) Free reliable Wifi and TV with English and Spanish channels.
6) Washing machine for laundry with drying rack.
7) Large playground for kids to play at beach club

Cons:
1) Need a rental and drivers are crazy in the Dominican! I did not realize how far outside Puerto Plata this location is but there are plenty of things to do in Sosua. There is also a nice grocery store very close.
2) Beach club is not included and they charge to use the pools and gym. (You can go to restaurant only without paying) It was under $5 USD for a family of 3 to go in pools.
3) Water temperature and pressure varies greatly at the house. On an island I wasn't surprised by this and we also had 6 people that would sometimes shower around the same time prior to dinner so I did not always get a hot shower.
4) No oven but the stove top, microwave, and grill was sufficient
5) Most people in Sosua do not speak English. Ruslin does but the guards and most of the waiters and employees there do not speak English.
6) If you are a beach person the beach is very tiny and not something you can walk on. Also the water was too rough to swim most days. It is also in the beach club area and private. There are a bunch of great beaches though that are a short drive away.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axs5454
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great vacation property”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have stayed at this property for one week. This was our first time staying at Sosua Ocean Village. We enjoyed our stay. The property is very spacious, with beautiful pool and landscaping. The beds and linens were very comfortable. We did have an issue with the hot water heater but it was addressed in a timely manner by the rental agent Ruslan. In general, Ruslan was an excellent host, providing good information about the complex, restaurants and surrounding areas. He also gave us multiple rides to the grocery store and Sosua beach. One downside of the property is the layout. While it would be great for a family with older children, it was not convenient for our family with two small children. Two bedrooms only have access from the outside and are not connected to the rest of the house.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhfl143
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, comfortable safe accommodations and exceptional service!”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We will definitely be going back here. Ruslin was an exceptional host and the accommodations were our home away from home. The grounds are impeccable. This location is family friendly. The security staff are extremely helpful and kind. The amenities are serene and the views breathtaking.

I would highly recommend this accommodation. The bedrooms have good working AC, Living area has fans. The home is beautifully decorated. We have a wonderful week and take home many fond memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service and accommodations were exceptional
Liked least: No AC in main livng area.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnyc222
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing private gated community.”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my cousin stayed in this wonderful villa from Aug 3-7, 2015. The owner Ruslan is very friendly and helpful. He also lives in the community, and can easily be reached. He provides pickup and drop-off service to the villa, and took us to the local supermarket so we could stock up the fridge. The villa was fantastic. The bedrooms were spacious with very comfy mattresses, and cant forget the ice cold a/c. The house has everything you need to feel at home. The outside area was spectacular, we grilled on the BBQ and swam in the clear blue pool. The pool was cleaned daily by the community grounds keepers which was nice, This is hands down the best private villa community in the area. You don't have to leave to have fun, There is huge water park and private beach in the community. Also a really nice Italian restaurant overlooking the infinity pool. Great place for a family or just a couple friends who want the best of it all. I would definitely stay here again. Wonderful atmosphere, very relaxing!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nici W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accomodation for a family or group”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was easy to get to, with friendly guards making it very safe. Ruslan was helpful when we needed him to help with the safe.
We travelled with three teenagers and they loved the private pool. The villa was very clean, the beds were very comfortable.
The location of the villa is very private being in a corner lot, and the breeze that came through the villa throughout the day and the evening was extremely pleasant.
I would definately book to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing