We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Garden by the Sea Bed & Breakfast(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropix Hotel(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Voramar Sosua(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B El Mirador al Mar(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Marina Beach Resort(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
B&B Pavillion(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ahnvee Resort & Sports(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Michaela(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Bay City Condos(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua del Caribe(Sosua)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
34
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for 8 days in February 2014 in the turret room with the private roof-top terrace and words cannot express the wonderful time we had there. I am truly at a loss for words but will try to convey our message of total contentment. Richard is the owner and absolutely perfect host, very willing to take the time to answer all our questions and offer advice. Breakfast is included in the rate, and what a great way to start the day ... fresh fruit cups with yogurt followed by either eggs, crepes or pancakes. You definitely leave the breakfast table full and ready to enjoy paradise. The room was very, very clean, absolutely spotless. The bathroom has two sinks, toilet and shower, with loads of towels. There was always lots of hot water with great pressure. And the roof-top terrace is to die for, so peaceful, so quiet, so tranquil. What a wonderful way to unwind and enjoy your vacation. The pool is great to refresh yourself, surrounded by lush, tropical plants ... too bad the plantain plant's fruit wasn't quite ripe, otherwise we would have had plantain for breakfast too. We are dog lovers and totally enjoyed having all 5 of them around, two were friendly, one was very old and quiet and then there are the two that are anti-social, lol. Quite a mix ! There is a store nearby where you get can just about anything at an amazingly inexpensive price (a bottle of Coke is equivalent to 50 cents and a bottle of water is about 20 cents). The store will also cook you supper, I had the pork chops and my wife had the spiced pork, each costing about $5 ... both were delicious.

After staying at the Casa Serena, we can't think that we'd ever stay at an all inclusive hotel again.

Room Tip: Book the turret room if you can .... the views are amazing from up there and the private roof-top terrace gives you an outdoor area that is only yours.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreezinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I stayed with Richard April 2012. We had the most fantastic time there, and he was the best host! Every day he treated us to a wonderful and filling breakfast. He was charming and friendly, and even made restaurant reservations for us at a beautiful little Thai restaurant. The pool was clean and refreshing and the area was very convenient. We stayed at three different places during our visit to the DR, including an all inclusive resort. Casa Serena by far surpassed the other two places! We highly recommend Casa Serena to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corina_gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My fiancé and I spent just over a week at Casa Serena and it was just what we needed. We came across this guest house, when a friend told us they were planning on staying at Casa Serena, later in the year.
When we arrived, we were greeted by Richard the host, who was so friendly and attentive for the whole of our stay and by the time we left, we felt as though we'd known him forever. He came up with some great suggestions as far as things to do. And I have to say snorkelling at "Paradise Island" just blew me away ... it's hard to believe how beautiful it is under our oceans. The trip to the waterfalls was fantastic and the Museum Of Hatian Art was to say the least, strange but really fascinating ... but it HAS to be seen to be believed. The beach at Sosua Bay was great with lots of little shack shops, selling paintings, wood carvings and beaded trinkets. The little beach side huts, selling yummy snacks and cooling drinks. Cabarete beach is about 10-15 minutes away, going east and has a totally different feel to Sosua Bay. An evening dinner trip to Cabarete is a must because it looks so romantic and pretty, when sitting in one of the beach side restaurants. Talking of food ... Richard told us about the Thai Restaurant, further up the hill on La Mulata ... it was wonderful and the food was delicious. That was a fantastic suggestion, because on the first night we just wanted to stay local, after a long flight from the UK. Our room in the turret had it's own private balcony and a lovely view over the hill. Great breakfasts and a swimming pool, for an afternoon dip. Overall ... A perfect retreat from the hullaballoo of Sosua town. THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES RICHARD !!

Room Tip: The turret room is ideal if you want total privacy and is fantastic for watching the stars at night ... reach out and touch !
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Turret Room which is big and airy with great views. The property itself and pool is wonderful. Richard was a great host, he really looked after us - nothing was too much trouble and we had many lovely long conversations with him. He's a really good guy.
Sosua is only 15 - 20 mins from Puerto Plata airport and easy to find. There is alot going on at Sosua beach but there is a quiter one very close by which is very nice.
We also did a great day trip further down the coast to Playa Grande, Playa Diamanate and other unamed beaches on the way that were beautiful and some empty.
The town of Sosua with restaurants, bars, discotecas is a very short car ride - parking no problem and safe. Don't stay at those awful all inclusive hotels - this is a perfect place for you to stay and explore the beautiful coastline of the Dominican Republic without all the crowds.
Thank you very much Richard for your great hospitatlity!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mioymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

What a great property and host! My partner and I were blown away by the incredible service, the property is quiet and relaxing.

I can't wait to go back - and hopefully if buy the place if ever on sale and I can afford it :)

Room Tip: Room by the pool is perfect,
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RealEstateToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews