We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good homestay, but be careful about the prices of the guided tours”
Review of Riana Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rantepao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riana Guest House
Ranked #2 of 13 Rantepao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Riana is a nice homestay near the main street of Rantepao and the city centre. The lodging is quite basic (no sink in the bathroom and very few facilities) but the family is nice and they do their best. We got a room downstairs for 175000 IDR which is a fair price. Daud, the owner, is a knowledgeable guide who will drive you around and tell you all about the main Torajan sites. We wanted to see as much as possible and he even took us to a buffalo killing ceremony in a nearby village, giving us as many details on what was happening. I am very happy of having used him as a guide, but if I feel we were overcharged as he asked us 650000 IDR per day. He drove us around quite a bit and was very helpful, but in fact the first day finished at 3pm and he still charged us full price. The family house is also quite noisy during the day, not ideal if you're trying to rest after travelling by night. Daud also kindly drove us to Rantepao from Makassar as he was in town when we landed - he did it for 600000 IDR and it took about 9 hours.

Room Tip: Maybe the upstairs room are quieter, we had a room downstairs and it was quite noisy as there are ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Clean rooms. Take a room with hot water. Nice owner who is also a guide. be careful when you arrive in Rantepao. When you take the bus from Makassar to Tana Toraja, guides will wait for you in Rantepao. They will call your name and bring you to the homestay Riana, but they don't belong to the homestay! They will push you to do a guide for 2 or 3 days with them for unreasonable prices. Don't do it! ..but just wait for the owner Daud who will guide you in Rantepao for around 350 rupiah a day.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Karsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed almost a week in August and enjoyed our stay very much. Daud and his family are very nice and helpful. And Daud is extremly knowledgable about Tana Toraja and its culture. He is an excellent guide!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christinebluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

The family seemed nice at first, however weren't entirely honest. Daud mentioned we'd only be able to check in at 8pm after arriving at 8am and charged us full price. They charged us for every toilet roll asked for throughout our 5 night stay. He also asked us to move rooms after double booking the room and moving us to a very budget room for a cost that was only slightly less.

As a guide he is very knowledgeable so it's worthwhile. However, as a guesthouse they have many improvements to be made.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank N33x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

I really can't figure out why this homestay has such a high rating on Tripadvisor!?
In one word: AWEFUL, the bathroom is disgusting, old en smells like urine. If lucky, some drips of cold water out of the shower (as there was probably something wrong with the water pressure).
Next to that, a lot of noise in the early morning and a dark and unsafe route from the mainstreet to the homestay at night.
After one night I left as early as possible to another homestay (Pia's) which was so much cleaner, more comfortable, beautiful and with a better atmosphere and even warm water for the same price!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Lori v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantepao
3.3 km away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#2 of 9 in Rantepao
278 reviews
23.5 km away
Hotel Sahid Toraja
Hotel Sahid Toraja
#1 of 2 in Makale
33 reviews
1.4 km away
Toraja Heritage Hotel
Toraja Heritage Hotel
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Marante Toraja
Hotel Marante Toraja
#6 of 9 in Rantepao
14 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Indra Toraja
Hotel Indra Toraja
#4 of 13 in Rantepao
73 reviews
0.7 km away
Luta Resort Toraja
Luta Resort Toraja
#3 of 9 in Rantepao
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riana Guest House

Address: Jl Abdul Gani Lorong Wisma Monton | Toraja Utara, Rantepao, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rantepao
Also Known As:
Riana Guest House Rantepao, Sulawesi, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing