We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
58
40
11
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
40
11
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner downstairs room the main road hot water fair price the bus stayed nights other guests rooms are clean home stay tour guide homestay motorbike toraja house lane toilet
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Clean rooms. Take a room with hot water. Nice owner who is also a guide. be careful when you arrive in Rantepao. When you take the bus from Makassar to Tana Toraja, guides will wait for you in Rantepao. They will call your name and bring you to the homestay Riana, but they don't belong to the homestay! They will push you to do a guide for 2 or 3 days with them for unreasonable prices. Don't do it! ..but just wait for the owner Daud who will guide you in Rantepao for around 350 rupiah a day.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Karsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed almost a week in August and enjoyed our stay very much. Daud and his family are very nice and helpful. And Daud is extremly knowledgable about Tana Toraja and its culture. He is an excellent guide!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christinebluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

The family seemed nice at first, however weren't entirely honest. Daud mentioned we'd only be able to check in at 8pm after arriving at 8am and charged us full price. They charged us for every toilet roll asked for throughout our 5 night stay. He also asked us to move rooms after double booking the room and moving us to a very budget room for a cost that was only slightly less.

As a guide he is very knowledgeable so it's worthwhile. However, as a guesthouse they have many improvements to be made.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank N33x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

I really can't figure out why this homestay has such a high rating on Tripadvisor!?
In one word: AWEFUL, the bathroom is disgusting, old en smells like urine. If lucky, some drips of cold water out of the shower (as there was probably something wrong with the water pressure).
Next to that, a lot of noise in the early morning and a dark and unsafe route from the mainstreet to the homestay at night.
After one night I left as early as possible to another homestay (Pia's) which was so much cleaner, more comfortable, beautiful and with a better atmosphere and even warm water for the same price!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Lori v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The whole family is lovely and hospitable. Rooms are basic but large and clean. Very hot water. Laundry service is amazing and inexpensive. Scooter rental fairly priced. Daud is extremely knowledgable and will help you organize your visit. Good location. Excellent value.

Only negatives - I was shocked that there was no sink in the bathroom and the toilet smelled awful. It's also quite noisy between the family and other guests who don't realize that voices carry.

We've already planned to go back!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn_USA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews