We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$53
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pison(Rantepao)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sulawesi Castle(Rantepao)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
57
40
11
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
40
11
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerdownstairs roomthe main roadhot waterfair pricethe busstayed nightsother guestsrooms are cleanhome staytour guidehomestaymotorbiketorajahouselanetoilet
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

THE MOST AMAZING HOMESTAY EXPERIENCE

My friend and I stayed here for two days and we both felt so happy we found this place. The homestay is located in a very quiet and local neighborhood in the center of Rantepao. The room is very clean, spacious and comfortable with a nice terrace and garden. The owner Daud and his family are extremely nice and hospitable people. They welcomed us after a long bus ride, made us nice breakfast and let us check in super early. As Torajan, they are very knowledgable about local culture and Tana Toraja. We really felt like being at home in their house. I highly suggest staying at their place when you are in Toraja. And if Daud is busy, ask for Nicholas to show you around. He is a very nice and experienced guide. He drove us to different places in Toraja, took us to two unforgettable funeral ceremonies, and introduced us to many local cultures and cuisines. All in all, it was a great trip thanks to these wonderful local people that we are so lucky to have met.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank lilinguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The rooms are cheap and clean. It is basically a bed and a bathroom, nor much more, but you will be out anyway. In front of the upstairs room is a big balcony, where you can have your breakfast, get on wifi (if it is working) and meet other travellers. I had a great time meeting people from all parts of the world.
It is a quiet place (hence the chickens in the morning), since it is not on the main road.
The owners are super friendly.
If you are looking for a great guide who doesnt charge you far too much and is humble and trustworthy; ask for Markos. The owner will know. Especially for women who travel alone and don't want to be bothered by slick guides. Markos is a very safe driver (motorbike), knows the area & history and doesn't keep on talking ;-)

Room Tip: upstairs, two rooms with hot water and next to communal balcony
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MissSaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Rooms are clean, owner will help you with all information you need. Its good to go first day with a guide around southern part and next day on your own to the northern mountains so you see all you have visited from the top. Then u can also go some rain forest trekking or funeral ceremonies. Ojek(motorbike) drivers can take you to batutumonga for 50k idr and then you can walk it down. Local restaurants are also great! Very beautiful region, will be back!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Arrakis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place with comfortable furniture at the terrace. Clean rooms. Helpful owner and family. Simple breakfasts, cheap drinks and big bathroom with hot shower. A bit far from the center, but its very quiet.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We ( family of four ) spend 5 nights in Riana guesthouse and felt at home right from the start. The guesthouse is situated in the middle of a residence area and real close to the main road with shops, restaurants and bars. Rooms are spacy, but keep in mind that not all rooms are equipped with warm water showers. More important: the owner is an expert anthropologist and knows all about Toraja culture. We were lucky to have him guide us in Tana Toraja and we strongly recommand him to everybody who is really interrested in Toraja culture.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathrooms with warm water showers, some have an Indonesian style bathroom. Ask in advance!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron-T-1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews