We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Awesome Trip with Yuspan

We visited several Torajan villages as well as a funural together with a guide caled Yuspan. We... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
Expedition754796
via mobile
Great Guide in Toraja

What a great trip! We toured for 3 days with our guide Imanuel Timbang. He made the trip so much... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2018
dhbhendrikse
,
Buitenkaag, Nederland
via mobile
Read all 137 reviews
  
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
97
35
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
35
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unique culture funeral ceremony his knowledge rice fields speak english very well many places local guide tour guide great guide beautiful scenery the cliff architecture makassar baby explanation highlights ceremonies
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We are world travelers and Indonesia is one of our favorite places to visit. No visit would be complete without going to Toraja Land; it is absolutely fascinating with burial sites which have a strange beauty, baby graves, and we were able to attend a funeral this trip.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Toraja land is one the tourist destination area in indonesia that must be visited because it has very unique culture,ancient tradition,the spectacular panorama and torajan people are friendly,welcoming and helpful.toraja land can be reached by flight almost 6 times a week except sunday or bus 9 hours journey.don't forget to visit toraja during on your trip to indonesia.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank gerardm1853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

See traditional houses and cultural artefacts from Toraja, useful introduction to this marvellous place.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Me and a friend really wanted to do some serious hiking when in Indonesia, and did we get it! We spent 3 full days walking around through what seemed like an infinite amount of ricefields. But the view never gets old! At night we stayed in local villages. People there were very friendly and made dinner for us, but they don't speak a single word of English. Luckily we had our guide, Yakob. He was a really nice guy and also served as bit as a translater at times.
Funny sidenote: because my mate and I are quite pale (especially me), locals would often come up to us and ask for our picture.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank ArneBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We did a nice tour through the villages with a tour guide Imanuael Timbang. Very nice man and very knowledgeable. With the buffalo's I can assure you it's not for faint hearted. All together we had a really nice stay.

Date of experience: June 2016
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews