We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highview Hotel(Karatu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
306
312
101
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
312
101
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stovehot waterone nightdining roomback porchbig fireplacecrater rimnice balconywater buffalorestaurant areawarm blanketsplenty of blanketsherd of buffaloopen fireplacebuffet stylecentral fireplaceboth dinner and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This hotel has a great atmosphere, just like a ski resort at the alpes. the restaurant is cosy and serves great food with a lot of selection.

rooms are very comfortable, equipped with a private fireplace (cool!!!) and big bed. If you are lucky you might see some buffalo eating the lawn outside your window in the morning.

service is great and staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shahar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much for your amazing review we are very happy that you had such a special time by Rhino.

Kind Regards
The Rhino Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Though we stayed there for only one night,but i feel some facilities were below average.
1.Wifi is okay- could be better(very slow and mostly unusable)
2.Buffet dinner is fine but the packed breakfast & lunches are horrible.
3.Rooms and amenities are great.
4.Location is good for Ngorongoro crater visits.
5.Staffs lack enthusiasm.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Aviator108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We loved Rhino Lodge for its coziness, the staff's smiles and warm welcome, the fantastic views, and the great food.
After a night of camping, Rhino Lodge felt like paradise with hot water, a small chimney in the room, an incredible view of the crater. All the staff looked happy to be there for you, either by serving a drink in the terrace overlooking the wild, or during dinner and breakfast. The dining room is so cozy, with two chimneys, all the tea and coffee you want... I would have liked to stay one more night at Rhino Lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_CM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much for your amazing review we are very happy that you had such a special time at Rhino. It is always great to see such a nice review and I will definitely be sharing this with the staff.

Kind Regards
The Rhino Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The room we had had no spectacular views, so rooms nrs 1-4 (I think) don't really have a view. The others do have! Nevertheless, the staff did enough to give us a warm welcome (and they put up the stove for you in the room as I can get quite cold at night).
The restaurant had a nice ambience!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gunterv2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

After a long and bumpy ride from the Serengeti, the Rhino Lodge was a happy sight! Unfortunately, our greeter wasn't exactly the warmest or friendliest person but luckily everyone else working there were. Our room was spacious and clean and a hot shower with good pressure was heavenly! The most memorable aspect of the Rhino Lodge was that there were zebras, water bucks and water buffalos outside the patio grazing on the grass! It was surreal seeing them there. It was also nice to be able to charge our electronics in our rooms during certain hours.

Dinner was served buffet style in the dining room and I'm embarrassed that I was extremely under dressed. We were in the tail end of our trip and I ran out of clean clothes to wear. There was a large selection of food and service was good.

I was surprised how cold it gets here compared to the Serengeti and Tarangire but the wood burning stove in the room was wonderful. The many thick blankets, warm stove and animals outside made for a cozy night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiloLeChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews