We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
101
63
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
63
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room sand boarding suggesting things to do own bathroom large kitchen single room rooms are big bed and breakfast stayed one night a great stay stayed longer home away from home cape town hostel dorm braai trey
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

I stayed there for one day. It was a very large place, nice and quiet. The single room is quite spacious with two single beds. It is located not far from major attractions in the city. The staff was very friendly. Nice experience overall.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhenzhongS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Zhenzhong

Glad to hear you loved your stay with us! Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Cool hostel with cool people and personnel. Only in the evenings it was a bit quiet I don't really know why. Overall a nice hostel! Nice location also to do the St Blaze trail from. If you want to do shark diving it is also possible to walk there from the hostels location.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank TobyEzra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi TobyEzra

Thank you for your review - here in Mossel Bay we live life slowly... - that's why it was a bit quiet at night :) Come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed one night in this backpacker. Old construction, doors, fans and furniture but with a beautiful interior decoration and very friendly staff. The location is in the center of the town and the breakfast is wonderful.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Abu_Firas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Abu

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Perfect place for a backpacker. Loads of interesting people.

Dede (owner) is very nice. Barguys Nick and Trey are greate and can help out with everything.

The Adventurecenter is greate! However they do promote/recommend tourist-events that stands for animal cruilty like Elephantriding and Walk with Lions..

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Mia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Mia

Thank you for your review. We would like to correct you in the sense that we offer reservations for all tourism activities in the area - it is the clients prerogative to choose according to each one's personal believes. We do not promote any activity whatsoever that promotes animal cruelty - and there is no place in the area where you can do elephant rides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This was our first trip to Cape Town this year, for health reasons we could not travel earlier. When arrived at the Backpackers and saw DeDe we relised how much we had missed staying at this lovely B & B. DeDe is not just the owner but also a good friend who goes the extra mile for us. Our 'usual' room was fresh clean and just so comfortable. It is so quiet and peaceful to sit on the verander and have drinks in the evening, but best of all is the big comfy bed and soft fluffy pillows, you really do have sweet dreams. Thanks so much DeDe for everything.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonPuchert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews