We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,419)
Filter reviews
1,419 results
Traveller rating
1,172
201
29
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,172
201
29
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor house luxury tents outdoor shower game reserve tented suite horseback safari lion walk across the river game meat the main lodge electric blankets horse ride amazing experience infinity pool wild animals golf cart treated like royalty
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,419 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The room was awesome and every single staff member went out of there way to make our stay memorable. Loved the log fires while sipping on a Jack Daniel's. Game drive was informative and fun with our guide Mandela

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank terence233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botlierskop, marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Good day,

Thank you the wonderful comments and thank you for spending your Easter weekend with us.

Kind regards,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

OMG, we stayed in one of the tents, so it is called Glamping, the rooms are very very comfortable, with an outdoor shower, and a very large bath (Not good when they are on water restrictions), The rangers are fabulous, and you get the same one for your entire stay, which is great. The food OMG The food is to die for, and soooo much delicious food.

Room Tip: The owners are buying up more land to make it bigger!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Good Morning,

WOW, thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed Glamping at Botlierskop and also the Game Drive and food.

Thanks again for your time writing this amazing review.

Kind regards,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This was a wonderful experience to see the animals out in the wide open spaces and being cared for by the staff. Out ranger Simba was very friendly, experienced and his knowledge of the animals was exceptional. All staff very friendly and efficient and the food was a very good standard throughout our stay. We saw 4 of the big five, missing out on the leopard, but it was all down to the ranger’s skill and experience that we were able to see four.

Room Tip: It was very well presented and comfortable but one or two areas needed a little maintenance but as it was the end of the summer season these may be completed in the winter months.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dejacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your time writing this review and sharing your wonderful experience at Botlierskop.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the game drive and the food.

Looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

From the moment we arrived until we left we felt absolutely spoilt by all members of staff. The lodge is nestled in the hills not far from the ocean and one has the feelings its miles away from everywhere. We really enjoyed the tranquillity, the game drives with very amusing rangers and fantastic meals. Every wish was fulfilled and we rounded off our staff with an wonderful massage in the beautiful Spa. What more could we ask for. The only thing we didn't see were lions but that's how a safari should be!! Sometime you get lucky and sometimes you don't!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Manor House and loved the room, view and pool. Would like to try the tents next time!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jeannine2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botlierskop, marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Good Day,

Thank you for the wonderful comments, positive feedback and sharing your Botlierskop Experience.

It's a pity you didn't see the lions.... but maybe it is an excuse for another visit :-)

Kind regards,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We took the Sundowner game drive planning to to stay for dinner afterwards. The guide (Simba) was excellent, His knowledge of the animals and their habits was encyclopedic and very entertaining. We could have listened to him all day.

The major disappointments for us were the fencing which separated the elephants and the lions from the rest of the animals. We understood the reason (one of the elephants had apparently attacked and killed a rhino) but it did make the drive rather disjointed. Additionally we had to choose between seeing the hippos or the elephants. That was not a choice any of us wanted to make but the majority decided on the elephants.

Despite the excellence of the guide therefore we found this drive less exciting than the other game reserves we have been on.

We decided against staying for dinner because we had not brought a change of clothing suitable for the formal dinner. We did see the menu and it looked delicious!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mardav03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews