We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cream of Mushroom Soup”

The Coldstream Restaurant
Price range: US$70 - US$170
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Coldstream Restaurant is open from 9.00 am to 21.00 pm. Our Pizza's are served from 10.00am to 19.00pm. Come and enjoy a nice relaxed dining experience here where children can play on the trampoline or swings and you can enjoy a meal inside or outside, depending on your mood! We look forward to serving you!! we are wheelchair friendly aswell. We are open from monday to saterday, only closed on public holdays
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Had the best soup of my South Africa visit at the restaurant. Not only was the soup great,it came in a big place. The steak was great as well.

Thank gow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge V, Manager at The Coldstream Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

thanks so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2018

We scouted for something different and not hotel food and found Coldstream. Unfortunately it had been raining and we had to sit inside. The decor and layout was endearing and comfortable. We got a really friendly greeting from management and staff. Our orders were taken promptly from a menu of multiple choices. When the food arrived it was tasty, hot and well presented. My steak was one of the better ones i have had. My wife had a vegetarian meal which she thoroughly enjoyed. I initially thought the prices were high but they seemed to be inline with most restaurants of the same standing.
All in all a good meal, good surroundings and a recommendation to try their cuisine

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richardevian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Whilst shopping in town , we returned to Coldstream for a quick lunch. Our previous meal a year ago was memorable and we wanted to return. My husband ordered a chicken salad – which was served with toasted heath bread. The portion was more than ample and it was tasty. I enjoyed a frittata served with a side salad – it was creamy and soft and exactly what I expected. The service was professional and friendly. The restaurant was packed; parking was available behind the restaurant.
Ideal for a hearty Karoo lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge V, Manager at The Coldstream Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

so glad you enjoyed your meal, hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We were a ta able of 8 and 6 ordered steaks and all were disappointed. The steaks were dry, tough and some over cooked. Vegetables were over cooked and appeared to be from a bag of frozen veg. To their credit, when we pointed out our disappointment with the best of intentions, management offered us all an Irish coffee on the house.

Thank White Bridge Fa... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge V, Manager at The Coldstream Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

sjoe, that is very harsh. if my memory stands correct, two of the steaks had grit, but the rest your party enjoyed theirs , so sorry you were disappointed hope to do better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Hello
Bad quality and quantity compared to Pionners Restaurant
I took same menu!.... Lamb Shank.
My husband took trio (in theory 3×100g). Springbock was very very Small (<50g)
The waiter was not smiling....

Thank Beatrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge V, Manager at The Coldstream Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

im sorry that you were unhappy, i dont know if you are aware, that the whole springbuck fillet is served, and the average weight of a springbuck fillet is +/- 100g, i think a person forget that it looses weight while cooking, all the weight witch is given is, is for raw meat weighed before it is cooked. i think alot of people get confused with the serloin(backstrap) ,many call, it the fillet, which in fact is the serloin, that can be cut in portion, were the springbuck fillet you cant do the same, you serve as a whole.

the reason the waitress was not smiling, she was taking your complainted serious and did offer you a extra piece of fillet, which you refused. she only wanted you to leave coldstream with a good feeling, which you did not.

sorry about the inconvenience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coldstream Restaurant also viewed

Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Coldstream Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing