We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not up to our expectations whatsoever” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fregate Island Private

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fregate Island Private
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fregate Island
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not up to our expectations whatsoever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

the positives: beautiful beaches (i believe we were lucky about the sea not being too rough), attentive staff, butler service is good, golf cartes are helpful, turtles are beautiful.

the negatives: tired rooms, tired common areas, only average food (nowhere close to Aman quality), outdated technology (wifi, electric plugs,etc.). millipedes (see below)

if you are paying 5.000 euros per day for a family of 4, i do not believe that a resort can have the luxury of having the above negatives.

biggest problem that my family has encountered were the millipedes in the island. this is no joke nor exaggeration. i am aware that this comes as part of a package within this eco island however one may not want to see 10s of millipedes per day within his/her villa and we did every single day we were at fregate. seeing them in the middle of the night in the bedroom was very tough for my 9 and 6 yr olds and they basicaly did not like the island because of this. one may be ok with millipedes but if you are not, this place is not for you.

lastly: because of the millipedes and the lizards, etc, we wanted to leave 2 days early (shortening our stay from 6 to 4 nights) and received very opportunistic/unreasonable response from mgmt. in these cases i do not care what the agreement/disclaimer writes. i care about the reality: the fact was that only 3 or 4 of the 16 rooms were occupied therefore us leaving 2 days early did not result in any missed opportunity to the hotel. the manager told me that they will only refund 10% of the total pmt for the unused nights to me. i asked back for at least 15% as 15% of room rate was already taken from me as service charge and i at least wanted to get that part back for the days i was not going to stay and receive no service!!! however, my butler replied to me that the manager's final decision was to refund 10%. this was a joke. it really was an opportunistic approach by the hotel not sympathizing with the guest whatsoever. never make your reservations for too long to this place if you have any chance to shorten your stay. your pmts to this place goes down the drain. you can always lengthen it as it does not necessariy have high occupancy (ie last week).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank mmmttt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fregate_Island, General Manager at Fregate Island Private, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
We are always extremely disappointed when our guests are unhappy with any aspect of their stay on Frégate Island Private, whatever the reason. We have over 30 years of restoration effort on Frégate Island and have been incredibly successful in so many projects, from the near extinct Magpie Robin to the annual nesting of the endangered Hawksbill turtle.

Regrettably, we cannot control all of our restoration efforts and the existence of the prehistoric millipede is part of our success. Many, many attempts have been made to try to limit their access to the villas; however, they do still manage to access inside the buildings. All of our personal Butlers are available at any time of the day and the night and they are happy to remove millipedes from the villas, if guests feel uncomfortable with them in the room.

We invest a huge amount in organizing familiarization trips to Frégate Island Private, to ensure that our travel partners have first-hand experiences and can accurately portray the experience in every respect. We feel that we must appreciate that our success on so many conservation and flora and fauna restoration projects have been so successful that it is no longer the natural and thriving habitants of the island who are the “outsiders“ - but we are!!

With regards to our cancellation policy, we regrettably have to say that this does not stand in direct relevance to the occupancy of Frégate Island Private. Irrespective of how many rooms are available or occupied on the island it is not ethical nor correct to step out of a contract from either side – the guests’ or Frégate’s side. As mentioned, we are always extremely disappointed if guests leave the island early and we did not meet their expectations. However, unfortunately there is nothing we can do to change the contract short term for whatever reason.

We still hope that we were able to deliver some good exceptional experiences to you and your family during your 4 nights stay on Frégate Island Private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    5
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Fregate is one of those unbeliebable and exteptional holiday destinations one can ever imagine. It is so beautiful with so much to offer. You really feel like you are on the island alone,the service is amazing, the vilas are just so stunning, You can have your dinners on the beach, at the deck overlooking the sea, at their tree house, the creole restaurant, the observatory watching the stars-anywhere you wish and anywhere you like really, What an amzaing time. Our Butler Mickey was just the BEST!Sweet, helpful,always smiling and a great attitite. Thanks Mickey!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful honestly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmadi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

This was our second time and it was just wonderful again. The villas have been updated and now have better jacuzzis and lovely infinity pools perched on the clif top. The staff are wonderful and go to huge trouble to arrange beach dining wherever and whenever you want. The hardest part of the day was trying to decide which cocktails we wanted and which beach to have them sent to! We go there to get away from everything and love the fact that we can spend a week there and not see another guest. It is the closest thing to having your own private tropical island.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank dragonlady33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

We had an incredible week on Fregate Island. From the breath-taking beaches, beautiful villas, delicious food, extremely professional, helpful and friendly team of staff to the incredible flora and fauna on the island; it was a magical experience.
It is well worth going on the nature walk to get an understanding of their superb conservation efforts and to experience the stunning views from the highest point of the island.
The dining experiences are wonderfully varied; from the treehouse to the beach, the garden kitchen and Plantation house. You must try them all!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz_jeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

A almost perfect vacation after our horrible stay in Nepal

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H0spitalityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fregate Island
29.5 km away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
28.7 km away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
30.8 km away
Six Senses Zil Pasyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
37.8 km away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
38.3 km away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fregate Island Private? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fregate Island Private

Property: Fregate Island Private
Address: P.O. Box 330 || Victoria, Mahe, Fregate Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Fregate Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fregate Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fregate Island Private is a secluded paradise, 4 degrees south of the equator and 35 miles off Seychelles' Mahe coast. Guests will discover the castaway idyll of their dreams amidst relaxed luxury. Fregate Island Private boasts 16 luxurious Villas, each perched over rocks looking towards the sea, and naturally isolated from one another. Interior architecture is simple and elegant, faithfully reflecting a colonial architectural heritage. The master bedroom, the dining and living rooms have heavenly views. Outside, an infinity pool seemingly spills into the exotic blue of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fregate Island Private reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fregate Island Private Hotel Frigate Island
Fregate Island Private Frigate
Fregate Island Private Seychelles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing