We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, stunning views, but remote location”
Review of Virunga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Virunga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The hotel is very nice & with spectacular views but somewhat over priced. the rooms are very comfortable, the presentation of the food was good but not outstanding quality, and the wine list was severly lacking. For this price I expect more. it is also situated approx 60 minutes from the Parks HQ where the Gorilla Trekking starts from, so i would recommend staying there for relaxation after you have done all your trekking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAG-JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Virunga Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

Wonderful views, outstanding food, unbelievable adventure only exceeded by the fantastic service provided by a friendly and competent staff....unequalled.

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puttvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This lodge was my favorite on safari. The stunning views and incredible service made it a wonderful kickoff off in Rwanda. The bungalows have all been updated with running water for showers and toilets. It is an Eco-lodge, so there are not plugs in the room to charge things, which can be done at the main lodge, and the lights are limited to evenings and early mornings. It still brings a smile to my face when I remember the "good morning" that I would hear as the staff would come to deliver tea or coffee to wake me in the morning. The food was outstanding and varied. And that staff couldn't be better. They were attentive, discreet, and friendly. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlegorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Lovely Lovely 2 night stay, should have stayed 3
Great service, warm and friendly. Staff clean your boots daily when you return from hikes.
Nice atmosphere at meals with other guests. Great lunch packs for your Gorilla treks which was priceless and highly reccomended and unforgetable.
DONT waste money on the golden monkeys though, as only a glimpse at a time, not worth the effort, would rather have done 2 days of Gorillas or just chill out at Virunga.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We had such a fabulous time at Virunga to kick start our honeymoon. Firstly, Rwanda as a country surprised us immensely - Kigali was an extremely clean city, and obviously progressing. Our lovely guide Sam picked us up from the airport and gave us an impromptu tour of the city itself, then we started the beautiful drive through the hillsides which was a great insight into the local people's lives.

Once we climbed the hill to Virunga Lodge, it was clear we were at a very special place. The views are absolutely incredible, looking to the volcanoes and a lake on either side of the hilltop. The entire staff formed a welcome committee for our arrival and I was presented with a beautiful bunch of tropical flowers. Our villa was overlooking the volcanoes and a lake, and was very private. The chef had baked us a 'happy marriage' cake and a bottle of Moet was chilling on ice. The villa itself was spacious, with a large verandah and bathroom, with his and hers sinks, traditional Rwandan bathrobes and a hot shower.

Inside the main lodge is a cosy fire and the staff could not do enough, although were not intrusive. I enjoyed a complimentary massage and then retired with a gin and tonic to watch the sunset on the verandah.

The gorilla trek was just incredible. It is about an hour's drive from Virunga, but we were so glad we stayed there as the lodges near the park itself looked a little average - and certainly there were no views! The process was very well organised and we were with our gorilla family within 45 minutes of trekking in the jungle. It is something we will never forget, and were allowed to be far closer than we ever imagined.

We were lucky enough to be back at Virunga just after lunchtime for some warming homemade soup and the local dance school came up to the lodge to demonstrate some traditional dance before pre-dinner drinks. We also really enjoyed sitting round the fire speaking to the staff about life in Rwanda - we didn't feel there were any communication issues whatsoever.

We absolutely loved it here, the atmosphere was so lovely and welcoming and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
36.5 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
93 reviews
20.8 km away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
17.0 km away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#5 of 9 in Kinigi
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
0.0 km away
Lake Ruhondo Lodge and Tented Camp
18.4 km away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#3 of 9 in Kinigi
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virunga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virunga Lodge

Address: Lake Bulera, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Ruhengeri
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Virunga Lodge is the premier luxury gorilla lodge of Rwanda and one of Africa’s finest and most renowned lodges. The lodge is perched high on a ridge with stunning views of the Virunga Volcanoes and the Musanze valley to the west and Lake Bulera and Ruhondo to the east. It offers the finest views in Africa, uniquely decorated rooms in the Rwandese style, fantastic food and exceptional and personalised service by our carefully trained staff. It is the first accommodation choice for the luxury traveller tracking the endangered mountain gorilla. Each of our ten luxurious bandas has a private terrace from which our guests can watch the sunrise over the dramatic landscape of mountains and lakes. Luxuriously appointed, with the accent on vibrant Rwandese fabrics and stylish locally inspired furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Virunga Hotel Ruhengeri
Virunga Lodge Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing