We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hell's Gate National Park
from US$155.85
More Info
from US$128.21
More Info
from US$112.83
More Info
from US$128.21
More Info
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
454
260
78
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
454
260
78
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock climbing hell's gate rent a bike day trip wild animals lake naivasha team building geothermal plant entrance fee safari experience unique experience the great rift valley masai mara on foot gorge cycling bikes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2021

We walked to the canyon with a guide, and this was a great experience, very different from the rest of our safari (great to be able to get out of the car for a change!). Wonderful landscape and it was great too to walk amongst giraffes and zebras.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank arthemise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

We took our own car to Hell’s Gate and paid at the gate.

We asked the ticket office for a map and we told they don’t have any to give out /buy. Instead, the ticket man pointed us to an artistic picture opposite the ticket desk which had no scale, it effectively just told us what was in the park, not where they were in relation to each other. Frustrating!

There were 2 options to get bikes; 1 about 1.6km before the gate, and another just through the gate. We didn’t do it this time around though thinking that we’d just have a look around the park by car this visit and perhaps bike next time.

Once in the park there are a few directional signs at junctions but you follow them blindly as you’re not sure where you’ll ultimately end up.
We went to Fischer’s Tower first, a big rock that people can climb up (technical climbing not walking), there are loads of Hyrax around there which are cute. You can also see the scale of the cliffs next to it. It is impressive!

We then went to the obsidian caves. They are not really caves that you can walk into as you might expect by the term cave, but instead overhangs of rock. Interesting to see the large chunks of obsidian though and how it differs from other rocks. No signs there though so Google will be your friend if you want to learn more about it.

Then we drove to the Kaparatania View Point. The drive there was ok, we saw Zebra and Haartebeast. Once we got to the view point though, you can’t see much and the only picnic bench there was broken. We drove on and down the hill towards Central Tower. This was thoroughly disappointing. All you can see are plumes of steam and metallic structures from the industry sites tapping into the geothermal activity. It’s good to see Kenya tapping into this resource but they really have ruined the scenery in the process. You eventually get to a tarmac road and turn right on it (don’t follow the KWS sign right on a murrum road saying ‘Gorge Outpost’, the road just led to another factory!!).

When we got to the Central Tower, you can then, theoretically, walk into the gorge. The gorge was closed though and the only option was to pay for a guide to walk you part the way in. We didn’t do that and so drove up the hill towards another power plant and turned off one of the roads to the left (again, no signs). We found a small curios market and you could walk yourself left down into the gorge. If you headed right, you walk to a view point the looks down the length of the gorge. There are no signs saying any of this, it’s purely through trial and error we found it. I would recommend taking a guide from this market area to the look out (if not only to help contribute a bit to the community). We then drove back past Central Tower via the most direct route to Fischer’s Tower and out of the park.

In summary, Hells Gate is a pretty place, if you avoid the very large sections of industrial power plants! The lack of signage/mapping/information is ridiculous. KWS can’t assume everyone is coming with a guide as part of an overseas tourism package. Unfortunately the lack of signage, mapping and useful information from KWS, mirrored what we had experienced earlier in the week at Nakuru National Park.

All that said, we think we might go back for 1 day to do some cycling and climbing - armed with this initial list of things to avoid in order to make it more enjoyable!

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank RandRKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

Biking through the park and encountering all of the animals was great. The park is more beautiful than I could have imagined. Our guide Black Santa made the trip memorable and gave us a history lesson on Kenya from the time he picked us off until we were dropped back off. His energy and great attitude only added to the experience

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank kristinrW1970GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Amazing to be able to cycle in a National park passed giraffe, eland and buffalo. Just choose your bicycle carefully, not all of them have working gears or brakes which makes the 7km cycle a little more challenging.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank 563nickys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2021

Hell's Gate is famous globalwide, because they filmed so many Hollaywood movies there. There are a lot of fun activities, you could do biking, hiking, camping and swimming. Worth to visit!

Date of experience: May 2020
1  Thank Sino_Africa_Safari_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews