We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
34
43
22
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
43
22
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water ethiopian food central hotel location is excellent the ground floor northern ethiopia within walking distance bahir dar pizza omelette wifi gondar firm elevator mountains guide
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We spent a night here before embarking on a trek in the Simien Mountains. The beds were hard, windows rattled, and as usual the plumbing in the shower room left much to be desired. The water shot out of the shower unit, the floor of the shower was broken, and the smell of drains coming out of the floor was pretty bad. Glad we were only here for a night. Breakfast comprised of the usual buffet, cold and unappealing.

Room Tip: We asked for a rear room which we thought would be quieter, but there is a road around the back of the hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank J2M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

The hotel is clean and staffed by attentive professional staff. It is perfectly fine and given that there are few choices in Gondar - so its a safe bet. Lots of foreigners use the place. The quality of the rooms, the hardness of the beds and general condition of the place while serviceable is not much more. Other Ethiopian cities have many new, more comfortable hotels in much better condition - and which charge almost half the price of AG. However, Gondar has been left out of this developmental rush and many of the hotels are the same as twenty years ago. What can you do!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Johnnie_Tembezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

The location and staff were the best parts of our stay at AG Hotel. It's right in the middle of Gondar and so much is within walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful, although we went downstairs once and nobody was at the front desk to help. The rooms were fine, but could be improved with little things, like more outlets and more towels. The restaurant upstairs was nice with an open-air bar and a closed-in restaurant. The prices were reasonable. Another point of improvement was the high level of noise coming in from the outside, but that's part of staying in the middle of the city. Overall, I would recommend the AG Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tenthlisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel which has an excellent location with a great view of the surrounding mountains.
It is in walking distance of everything in Gonder. The service of the staff was great and the rooms and beds are very comfortable. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Alejandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

I have given this hotel 4* because of the great support and help from the Manager and staff. We arrived with my husband with serious food poisoning from the previous night hotel. The Manager arranged help from the hospital and they were genuinely all very supportive. Good central hotel, reasonably priced. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fl0werv2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews