We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
57
183
112
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
183
112
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolgreat viewsouvenir shophill tophotel is situatedamazing hotelinternet connectionsmall roomenjoyed my staycomfortable roomsomeletteplenty of hot watercityethiopiahilltoppapayavalley
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2015

No air conditioner in the room, so when it is hot, you open your window without screen, and mosquitos and many hauling stray dogs will not let you have a good night sleep.
When there is black out, the generator is not big enough to heat water, so it will be cold shower. We realized we were quite unlucky on that day because there are reviews that are positive.
Breakfast - omelet cooked to your liking - can reduce the amount of oil to cook, fruit juice could be better, meat, fruits, bread were also available.
Dinner - we were going to eat there, but because of the big conference they had, we went somewhere else.
The view from the hotel is great.

For the hotel, please put screens on the windows. The electricity issue can be improved by a bigger generator. Notify hotel guests if there is a problem in advance. Check all the lighting before guests arrive. Taste what you are offering before serving guests.

Just an advice to those who visit churches - fleas will travel on your clothes. For the best sleep, spray your clothes with bug repellant, and check your belongings and not bring them into your room.

Stayed: October 2015
3  Thank kickboxmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Its location at the top of one of the highest hills of Gonder provides great views over the city . The hotel itself is surrounded by a dense forest which creates a feeling of calmness and warmth . It is quiet at night which is definitely not the case in downtown Gonder !
The rooms are nicely decorated and well furnished . The temperature in the room was fine considering the variation between day and night outside !
We found the service to be excellent everywhere : in the restaurant , at the bar , at the front desk and for the room . The restaurant offers an interesting menu for lunch and dinner and prices are in line for an hotel of this quality ( including the wine) . The breakfast included in the price is limited in the items proposed ; fruits , cold meat would be welcome .
Big and clean swimming pool easily accessible !
WIFI is not good , we could not send any e.mails !
They accept payments by Visa or Mastercard
Improvements on breakfast and WIFI would bring this Hotel to excellence !

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Check in was quick and efficient. The room was satisfactory although the bathroom was a little warn it was pleasant with a very hot shower. Outside the hotel is a swimming pool that looked inviting but I didn't have time to use it. The pool built on the hill side overlooking the city so the views are fantastic.
We eat in the restaurant which served a buffet which had a good variety of food, both western and Ethiopian and was very good. We had coffee and this was one of the best coffees we had on our 16 tour of Ethiopia. (not too strong by Ethiopian standards)
Would recommend you stay here at least one night and see the city on the way to the Simien Mountains.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NaturesMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Hotel staff are very friendly and welcome people.
Room is clean and convertible.
Very nice city and mountains views.
I liked to stay there to enjoying nature and Ethiopian food very testy . Restaurant is excellent Ethiopian and Europeian desh, culteral Ethiopian coffee ceremony.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Beautifully located hotel in a hill top. Spacious, clean and quiet rooms. Fairly efficient staff and OK breakfast. Lunch and dinner are of good quality, although somewhat pricy for Ethiopean standards. Fine swimming pool and nice garden to relax and enjoy the views. Its location at the edge of town implies that you need private transportation to see the city highlights. Anyway, a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Luciano065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews