We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Worn Overpriced hotel”
Review of Quara Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gonder
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quara Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Gonder
Reviewed 10 October 2014

I paid USD 35 dollars while my Ethiopian friend payed USD 27 the same day for the same room type. My other Ethiopian American friend payed for the same room USD 20 a week ago. Upon enterin the room I killed around twenty flies even though some of them had been left dead on the balcony window for weeks. Upon flushin the toilet it stank horribly, so I took tide that was left outside on the houskeepin cart and cleaned it by my self. As the shower looked worn out and towels of suspicious non cotton quality, I didnt take a shower. The hotel restaurant serves amazin avocado juice, but dont order beef unless you want to break your teeth. The next day I moved out and found three times cheaper and cleaner central hotel. T he hotel receptionist didnt issue me a receipt, and upon requestin it, the price per nite field was whitened out, and corrected.....guess why....someone was playin with prices here....

Room Tip: top floor side rooms facin the backyard are quieter than front rooms facin the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel has clean spacious rooms and friendly staff. It is centrally located. However it is quite noisy as there is a cafe right next to the hotel. There was a construction all around, but it might be over by now. The have very good restaurant and wonderful fruit juices there.)
There is one more thing: hotel is 6 flights and doesn't have an elevator, so if you don't want to walk upstairs too high you should consider this.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oksanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Public areas and sheets were Clean, but the room was in typical lack of maintainance. No seat for toilet. Burned out bulbs. Broken shower door, etc. One towel for a couple. Poor internet. Screws falling out door handle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gellero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

a friend and i decided to change hotels after our first night in a highly rated, recommended hotel. The quora hotel was very good. its a good location, very centralized. the staff is very outgoing and friendly.

Room Tip: check the hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

According to our Ethiopian guide - very experienced -this was the best place for lunch in Gondar town centre but not to stay in. We ate upstairs on the terrace overlooking the main square and the statue Theodophilus. Lots of kites circling overhead. I had a marguerite piazza for US$3 served on a wooden platter and my husband had Indian rice and lentils which is a fasting meal. We both had a local beer, Dashen. Beer was US$1 including VAT and service charge. We had seen the brewery on the way into town. Both meals were very good but the tablecloth was very dirty, cigarette burns and a horrible violent purple colour with frills. The place was full of tourists. Loos were ok with running water, flush, paper but no loo seat! Smelt strongly of disinfectant and two girls busy cleaning. Clean towels put in for me but empty soap dispenser.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gonder hotels
1 km away
Goha Hotel
Goha Hotel
#1 of 14 in Gonder
368 reviews
0.4 km away
AG Hotel Gondar
AG Hotel Gondar
#4 of 14 in Gonder
96 reviews
0.1 km away
Taye Belay Hotel
Taye Belay Hotel
#9 of 14 in Gonder
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Florida International Hotel
0 km away
Lammergeyer Hotel
Lammergeyer Hotel
#11 of 14 in Gonder
32 reviews
0 km away
Gonder Landmark Hotel
Gonder Landmark Hotel
#13 of 14 in Gonder
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quara Hotel

Address: Pizza | Centre of Gonder, Gonder 1256, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Gonder
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your most convinient hotel in Gondar ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing