We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around El Chalten
from US$90.10
More Info
from US$616.48
More Info
from US$540.00
More Info
from US$125.00
More Info
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
151
74
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
74
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanging glacier el pilar laguna de los tres shuttle hostel path fitzroy mirador hike
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2015

There is a lovely hike from EL Pilar ($20 taxi ride from El Chalten) back to El Chalten, taking in a viewpoint on this glacier form the trail. Beautiful and very easy trek if Laguna de los Tres is skipped. About 13 k with a steep enough descent at the end into El Chalten.
If you're fit, make magical memories and visit Laguna de los Tres (and the nearby Laguna Sucia). Startling, beautiful and unforgettable!

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We walked past Piedras Blancas en route to Laguna de Los Tres (we started out from Hosteria El Pilar specifically so we could see more) and it was quite spectacular. The Mirador for Piedras Blancas is in a forested area - so its quite nice to walk amongst the trees and see the glacier getting closer and closer on the other side of the river. A wonderful view and a wonderful walk. I cannot recommend it enough!

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank Rashmi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We had such a great day , great hike, such a beautiful place. I loved all the glaciers and enjoyed the beauty.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Don't miss this hike! It is a long day filled with beautiful scenery and varied landscape. The map says that it is a difficult hike but our children, ages 10-17, were able to do it and loved it. Book a shuttle to the trail head to save some time, wear layers and bring plenty of snacks and water. We had lunch at the trailhead to Laguna de los Tres which was fun in itself. On the way down, go by Laguna Capri and you've seen three of the great natural sites in El Chalten. Worth the effort and the full day of hiking!

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2014

view all around. We spent about half an hour, just sitting and looking at the glacier. At some point, there was a bit of calving - a bonus.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews