We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
117
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely gardenwonderful hostsbreakfast was deliciousquiet at nightkathypubscyclingmountains
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Our bedroom overlooked the lovely garden with views to the mountains. Multiple breakfast choices which were delicious. Kathy and Brian were lovely hosts who left you alone if you wanted but were ready for a nice chat when you didn't. Not far from the centre of Crickhowell with some very nice pubs.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank helenmB368EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minijack, Owner at Gwyn Deri, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. Glad you liked the garden and the breakfasts! Hope you'll come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Gwyn Deri was our fourth stop (7 Sept.) on a week’s cycling holiday with Wheeley Wonderful Cycling in Breacon Beacons. We (two males from Norway) opted for this B&B due to their previous good reviews, and that we hoped it would be quiet at night. And, yes, it was very quiet! It is located slightly out of the town center. Apart from that, this B&B ticks all the boxes. First of all it is a fantastic house, with a wonderful garden. The rooms are nice and well appointed. Breakfast was delicious. Last but not least you have Brian and Kathy who were extremely friendly and hospitable!
I am a “collector” of these real old country pubs. Unfortunately it is only a few of them left, but we managed to “find” one of them, The Dragons Head Inn, 1.5 mile outside Crickhowell. It was a rainy evening so we decided to have a taxi out there. When Kathy heard this, she insisted, not only to take us there, but also to bring us back! What a threat, Kathy. We really appreciated this!
Will we be back to Gwyn Deri and Crickhowell?? Yes, we will be back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 196Ole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minijack, Owner at Gwyn Deri, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Good customer feedback is so important. We were pleased we were able to help with your real ale pub visit. Best wishes Kathy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The property is situated down a quiet cul-de-sac and has plenty of parking. However it is within easy walking distance of the town and its many attractions. Both internally and externally it is well maintained. Our hosts were excellent company and nothing was too much trouble. The room was well appointed and spotless with a large comfortable bed. Plenty of storage space and a small but adequate en-suite bathroom with shower is provided. Bright and airy breakfast room with plenty of choice both hot and cold. Overall a very pleasant two night stay. I would recommend

Room Tip: No 1 has large picture window overlooking apretty garden and the hills in the distance
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnRW724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

My second, and hopefully not last, stay at Gwyn Deri. The room was spotless and contained everything you could want . Kathy and Brian are great hosts and make an excellent breakfast. They were happy to have Floss (Labrador) in their home and were very accommodating to both of us. Crickhowell is perfectly placed for exploring the wonderful Brecon National Park. Ready to book my place again for next year, or even sooner! Many thanks. Tim, Somerset.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

We chose Gwyn Deri as an overnight stop en route to Fishguard and sincerely wished we had arranged to stay a second night in this very pretty little town. A delightful room with a view to the hills, lovely bed and linens, welcoming afternoon tea and delicious Welsh breakfast. We couldn't ask for more!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank johnandkathy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews