We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronwye Guest House(Builth Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Kite Hill Yurts(Builth Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Llanelwedd Arms Hotel(Builth Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Owls(Builth Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (923)
Filter reviews
923 results
Traveller rating
556
264
65
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
556
264
65
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse taster menuthe rivercaer beris manorbeautiful groundsgroupon dealdog friendly hotelfour poster bedlovely hoteleggs benedictthe ground floorbar menufull welshlovely settingevening meallovely breakclay pigeon shootingbirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 923 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We have stayed here several times. The hotel has been sold but the staff remain and we were pleased to find the same friendly atmosphere and good food. A few new touches such as some new furniture, garden seats etc. Great grounds with the River Irfon flowing through - I cast a few flies and landed 3 trout - safely returned. It is a favourite venue with the fantastic Wye and Usk Foundation (fishing beats and habitat restoration etc,) - who first introduced me to this hotel. I recommended to some friends who have booked for Christmas. You can choose a room overlooking the grounds and river. P.S. Their chef kindly wrote out a recipe for my wife.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/river view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Monicals21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel with our basset hound Bella. The hotel staff were amazing, even remembering the dogs name on check in. We were shown around and where the dog was welcome, which is the majority of the hotel.
We arrived a little later than intended the first night and there was no issues moving our taster menu to the next evening. Food in the bar was yummy and my husband was really impressed with the choice of lager on draught.
We slept really well in the huge bed, and the hotel was so peaceful even the dog slept in.
Breakfast was a fab choice and we were both beaten by the Welsh breakfast. Fab walks right from the hotel door, with really convenient dog bins.
The 7 course taster menu - wow!! We sat at our thrones in front of the fire place and dined like royalty. We've eaten in Michelin starred restaurants and found the food to be on a par.
Overall we had a fabulous stay, and will definitely be back. So lovely to find a pet friendly hotel that is truly pet friendly.
The new owner is clearly starting to invest some money in the hotel, which can only make it even better!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

2 days of treating my wife in the Spa hotel in Ruthin we decided to have an extra night in Wales and found the Caer Beris Manor. Staff were brilliant! Should be applauded as head and shoulders above what we had experienced in The Castle. Receptionist was lovely with a warm greeting, barman and waiter was chatty, informative and excellent. Food superb. A very happy couple who will definitely make a point of returning when next in Wales

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

To celebrate our wedding anniversary we decided on a night away in a country house hotel. This one took our eye as it claimed to be dog friendly.

From the moment we checked in Claire and her team made us feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
The room was very spacious and comfortable, although the bathroom a little dated. They were happy for us to leave the dogs in the bedroom whilst we ate in the evening - I hasten to add the dogs are quite well behaved!

The food was tasty and although there was a choice of restaurants we could mix and match the menus as we liked. Just as well as I could go for the a la carte option whilst my husband chose more hearty fare from the bar menu.

The grounds are perfect to walk the dogs in, set away from the road and with conveniently placed bins to deal with any waste.

Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Fabric of the building and interior tired,however staff wonderful,food very good,bed very comfortable.this hotel has just been bought by a Turkish family and will defiantly go back next year to see what it's like,the setting is beautiful,fly fishing in the hotel grounds wonderful,the rooms at the moment are functional and that's about it,however the 5ft. Bed was very comfortable.dinner at night was above standard for a 3star hotel and breakfast also above average,I'm always impressed when the fruit is fresh not tinned,and the orange juice freshly squeezed.

Room Tip: We had room 6 was very quiet on 2nd. Floor
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mario527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews