We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lucky find :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We booked at the Caer Beris last minute and what a super place it is. We were made so welcome by all the staff and shown around the hotel upon our arrival
Our room was lovely with a 4 poster bed and fabulous views over the grounds.
Dogs are made very welcome and ours really enjoyed exploring the grounds of the hotel.
I have recommended this hotel to a friend already and we will be definitely returning.
Evening meal was superb .The fillet steak we had was the best I have ever tasted and breakfast was delicious too. I couldn't fault anything. Staff are amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and we were told by another guest it was the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rachelsmith930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

We have stayed here several times. The hotel has been sold but the staff remain and we were pleased to find the same friendly atmosphere and good food. A few new touches such as some new furniture, garden seats etc. Great grounds with the River Irfon flowing through - I cast a few flies and landed 3 trout - safely returned. It is a favourite venue with the fantastic Wye and Usk Foundation (fishing beats and habitat restoration etc,) - who first introduced me to this hotel. I recommended to some friends who have booked for Christmas. You can choose a room overlooking the grounds and river. P.S. Their chef kindly wrote out a recipe for my wife.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Monicals21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel with our basset hound Bella. The hotel staff were amazing, even remembering the dogs name on check in. We were shown around and where the dog was welcome, which is the majority of the hotel.
We arrived a little later than intended the first night and there was no issues moving our taster menu to the next evening. Food in the bar was yummy and my husband was really impressed with the choice of lager on draught.
We slept really well in the huge bed, and the hotel was so peaceful even the dog slept in.
Breakfast was a fab choice and we were both beaten by the Welsh breakfast. Fab walks right from the hotel door, with really convenient dog bins.
The 7 course taster menu - wow!! We sat at our thrones in front of the fire place and dined like royalty. We've eaten in Michelin starred restaurants and found the food to be on a par.
Overall we had a fabulous stay, and will definitely be back. So lovely to find a pet friendly hotel that is truly pet friendly.
The new owner is clearly starting to invest some money in the hotel, which can only make it even better!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

2 days of treating my wife in the Spa hotel in Ruthin we decided to have an extra night in Wales and found the Caer Beris Manor. Staff were brilliant! Should be applauded as head and shoulders above what we had experienced in The Castle. Receptionist was lovely with a warm greeting, barman and waiter was chatty, informative and excellent. Food superb. A very happy couple who will definitely make a point of returning when next in Wales

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

To celebrate our wedding anniversary we decided on a night away in a country house hotel. This one took our eye as it claimed to be dog friendly.

From the moment we checked in Claire and her team made us feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
The room was very spacious and comfortable, although the bathroom a little dated. They were happy for us to leave the dogs in the bedroom whilst we ate in the evening - I hasten to add the dogs are quite well behaved!

The food was tasty and although there was a choice of restaurants we could mix and match the menus as we liked. Just as well as I could go for the a la carte option whilst my husband chose more hearty fare from the bar menu.

The grounds are perfect to walk the dogs in, set away from the road and with conveniently placed bins to deal with any waste.

Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
8.8 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
946 reviews
10.9 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,401 reviews
14 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,029 reviews
33.9 km away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
542 reviews
1.8 km away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range: €96 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing