We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
567
268
65
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
567
268
65
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course taster menu the river beautiful grounds caer beris manor lovely hotel groupon deal four poster bed dog friendly hotel main restaurant suspension bridge eggs benedict dining room old building clay pigeon shooting bar menu evening meal lovely setting
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Have just returned from a two night break from this wonderful hotel
From the time we arrived till the time we left we was made to feel so welcome
The hotel and gardens are beautiful
Rooms are in keeping with the hotel great shower rooms clean
We had the seven course taster menu on the first service was fantastic the waiter and waitress explained each dish to us
The staff are attentive but not intrusive
Breakfast was freshly cooked plenty of choice again service was attentive
We walked around the land and river beautiful scenery
We chose to dine in the hotel we was allowed to order of of the bar menu and the al a carte nice to be given s choice
Again food was wonderful and service wonderful
Nothing is to much trouble for the staff at this hotel from the receptionist who gave us a tour when we arrived which was a really lovely touch
To the gardener that spent time talking to my husband and the owner who happily spoke to my husband about the fishing courses that are available (my husband is booking already )
We will be returning and are also sending our parents as a treat
Well done and thank you

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Twyning2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Just back from a 2 night stay at this beautiful place. Bought a 2night deal through Travel Zoo which included a 7 course taster menu on the first night and breakfast on both mornings. This hotel is set in the most beautiful of surroundings. 27 acres with a river, lush gardens and spectacular walks. The hotel staff are friendly and have all the information you need on the surrounding areas and things to see and do whilst you stay there. We took our dog with us as the hotel is pet friendly too... I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return in the future.....

Room tip: Room14 was more than ample for our needs
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sillyfrog1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We booked for one night with the tasting menu. The welcome was warm and we were given a quick guided tour before being taken up to the bedroom. After a quick unpack we took advantage of the glorious weather and had a stroll around some of the 27 acres. Walking by the river was so relaxing, eventually getting back to the hotel for a well earned drink. The hotel feel so welcoming and friendly and the staff are so helpful. The tasting menu was superb and the welsh breakfast this morning so tasty. We will be back and hopefully next time stay for 2 nights so we can explore the area more and perhaps indulge in an afternoon tea!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SchumieWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We came across this hotel on a TravelZoo top 20 weekly list. It coincided with a bank holiday weekend and a major antiques fair in Builth Wells so we quickly bought a voucher and booked up. Within the voucher was a 7 course tasting menu each, and the hotel accepts dogs which can stay in your room for only £10 / night - bonus!

I can be snobby, and a 3-star hotel may not be something I would go for, however given its location and on the weekend aforementioned, I thought lets go for it. First impressions were very good, the grounds are lovely (great for dogs), the building looked really interesting, and the check-in lady was brilliant. She showed us to our room, which was located near the exit for the dog. The room itself was fine, lovely big window and bed. There were signs of wear and tear, given its age, and the TV was far too small given how far the bed was away from it, but generally the room was great. If you look for faults you will find them, but I just had to remember it was a 3 star hotel and on an offer price.

Included within the price was breakfast - very good, and a 6 course tasting menu, which again was a nice experience. The wine list was very varied, with the cheapest red around £17 - so nothing over the top like some hotels.

I'd highly recommend people to stay here. As I say the location and grounds are lovely, the town is probably a 10 - 15 minute walk.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhysBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Great accommodation just outside the historic town of Builth Wells. If you have a couple of hours spare make the most of exploring the expansive grounds and river walks. Top tip: the 7 course taster menu is fantastic! An excellent find.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews