We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Maes y Gwaelod(Llanwrtyd Wells)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neuadd Arms Hotel(Llanwrtyd Wells)(Great Value!)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cerdyn Villa B&B(Llanwrtyd Wells)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardwyn House(Llanwrtyd Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryncelyn Guesthouse(Llanwrtyd Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Riverside(Llanwrtyd Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage(Llanwrtyd Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Cwm Irfon Lodge Cottages(Llanwrtyd Wells)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Stay at Lledgwial(Llanwrtyd Wells)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
37
13
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
13
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hostsexcellent chefrooms are cleancambrian mountainsstayed one nightfantastic placefull english breakfastsurrounding countrysidereal aleemmahospitalitycosyhorsesirfonpeace
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here recently to celebrate a 40th and a 70th birthday in the family. Roger and Emma were wonderful hosts and we had a great meal to celebrate the birthdays, they even catered for our young children. We have been coming to stay here regularly over the last 13 years and enjoy every visit. The food is always very high quality and the setting is wonderful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Our pleasure. It is always nice having you and your family stay with us. Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

My dad and I stayed one night at Lasswade while driving through Wales. The B&B is family run, and we were met by one of the owners. She gave us all the essential information, and showed us to our room. The B&B is more like visiting someone and staying in their spare bedroom to be honest, and when we arrived we though everything seemed very run down and poorly maintained. However, our room was spacious and clean, but in desperate need of an upgrade. The wallpaper was peeling off, the furniture had seen better days and the bathroom (although very spacious with a bathtub) was very dated and basic. There is a fine line between "rural and charming" and just "old". On the bright side; the hotel was quiet, we slept very well, the price was reasonable and wifi worked well.

Breakfast was included in the price, and was a full English breakfast cooked by the owner. While waiting we got a lot of good advice regarding our driving route in Wales. The breakfast was very tasty.

I don't think my dad and I were their usual guests, so we might see things in a different light. But; the B&B needs an upgrade...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

friendly people. they coped very well with Man v Horse runners ( they even provided baskets for trainers etc...they return the trainers the next morning with newspaper lining them to help the drying process. really considerate)
they also coped well with me being veggie

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

That is why we won the Considerate Hoteliers Award! Not only for our contribution to Climate Change but also for our Hospitality. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Our room had magnificent views of the countryside.
The food was exquisite - Roger is an excellent chef and nothig is too much trouble for either him or Emma. They are interested in people and onvote you into their home but at the same time the cuisine is of a standard equvalent to the finest of restaurants.This is no home cooking - its cordon bleu!

Room Tip: Our bedroom was at the rear of the property and the views of the countryside were breathtaking.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gerald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Lasswade is a unique and special place. So pleased you enjoyed our quality food and hospitality. Until next time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Firstly the hosts are lovely and welcoming. Secondly our one night stay came to over £200.

The rooms are cosy and here are the FACTS. The wallpaper is peeling, the Lino on the bathroom floor is coming up, this place prides itself on being an eco hotel but has very few led lamps and most are old school high energy. The decor is tired and old and reminds one of going home to their aged Ps for Xmas. The food was £35/person which was far far too much for what was served. Overhead lighting on FULL during dinner.

I loved the hospitality and location and views. But the owners ask a lot of money to stay here and should invest in redecorating this place and giving it a good clean. It would be just the finishing touch. The hotel inspector should film here it would make great viewing.

Saying all that I would return, if I had that cash

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ladfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

We are sorry to learn that our food was not to your liking and you found it too expensive. We are not quite sure what your expectations are of a 2 A.A. Rosette Restaurant and what price budget you had in mind. For your information, we have not raised our set price for over 4yrs (despite ever increasing costs of ingredients)
We have a fixed price 3 course menu, so customers know exactly what they are paying rather than individual portion prices (where the prices can easily mount up, along with the extras). Regarding your reference to the Hotel Inspector Filming here. We have recently had our A.A. annual inspection (the A.A. is one of the longstanding U.K.'s highly recognised Travel Inspection companies) everything was to their standard and they have awarded us a Silver Award for our quality, high standards of hospitality, service and cleanliness.
You also mention that we had very few LED lamps. May we point out that every bedroom is fitted with low energy bulbs along with all overhead lighting in Public and Private areas. LED bulbs are fitted in our Conservatory where Breakfast is taken. With our chandelier, we have put in place some LED bulbs but it is difficult to obtain dimmable LED bulbs that work with this vintage chandelier.
Your feedback is appreciated and we notice that you say you will return again if you had the cash. It is a pity your budget does not stretch further to allow this. Don't worry, be happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews