We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveller rating
737
584
217
91
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
737
584
217
91
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signature room standard room garden lodge evening entertainment dining room entertainment team tribute band age group entertainment hall line dancing waiter service main building night break older people leisure centre royale room mulberry lounge
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago, enjoyed it and decided to have a return trip. Warners cater for primarily the over 50`s so adults only which suited us fine.
We had a signature room that was lovely, a good size with comfy beds, nice bathroom and a big TV. Sadly no view but we did get a last minute bargain.
We found the food to be lovely, great choices at the carvery and all cooked perfectly. Best roast lamb ever!
Starters and puds served by waitress so a wait at busy periods.
The entertainment was excellent, 1960's and Bob Dylan show. The two men hosts/singers were also excellent. The main problem as mentioned is the seating in the caberet room as it is so popular people are packed in very tightly. If you book early you will get the best seats, if not you sit at the back with very restricted views. Getting in and out of your chairs can be difficult and there are no waiters. The castle itself is well worth the £3 entrance, very interesting and the grounds are lovely. We will return in the near future i am sure.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol52 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hello! I am so thrilled to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that you took the time to give us a five star review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you!!

Regards

Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

If we were going to stay at a Castle then it had to be in the main building. Spacious room. Fantastic views and a hot tub with enough room for a couple of glasses of wine AND the bottle.

Good weather so we were able to sit outside the room, though it was a battle to keep one of the squirrels from getting into the room to look for food!

Food as expected and the usual Warners activities. Just downgraded to 4 as the entertainment wasn't really to our liking and the arrangements for seating meant we were unable to get decent seats anyway. Other than that, a perfect stay and the history associated with the place was very interesting.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hello! How nice to read for your 'perfect' stay. Good to see the hot tub being put to good use! I'll do my best to get the squirrels better trained!

Regards

Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

4 days spent here in excellent accommodation, and most enjoyable food was spoilt by the entertainment arrangements . Seating is allocated in various areas, mine was on a balcony which was reached by 2 flights of stairs, I visited Warner’s with the expectation of being able to dance, but this made it impossible as I would have to climb up and down to reach my drink !! Enquiring if it was possible to move I was only offered a table at £25 , during the evening many seats were empty but I was reluctant to use one in case the “ owner” appeared ! I felt very angry at these arrangements as I had always enjoyed being able to access the dance floor with such ease at previous Warner hotels
My visit will certainly not be repeated .

Stayed: August 2018
6  Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello. In order to make the meal time a more leisurely experience we introduced 'My Warner Table' across all Warner Hotels with separate entertainment venues. After making your booking you are prompted to choose a 'zone' or area where you would prefer to be seated. The areas around the dance floor are usually reserved quickly and I am sorry that on this occasion you were unable to secure a seat near the dance floor. To clarify the table offered to you for £25.00 per person this represented a gold V.I.P. experience which included a bottle of wine up to £25.00, an additional drink, canapes, dressed table and a waiter devoted to serving your table for the evening. On the remaining nights of your stay the table remains allocated to you.

I am glad you found the accommodation 'excellent' and that the food was also well received and hope that you will reconsider visiting us again in the future.

Regards
Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Excellent accommodation even though we had only booked a. "standard" room. The service in the restaurant was very smooth and the staff polite and friendly. In particular David (from Stockport), who had only been working there for a short time really excelled and had a great personality. He was polite, enthusiastic about his job and carried it out with a mature efficiency. The food was well prepared with plenty of choice for all appetites.
The grounds and woodland at the Castle were enjoyed each day. However,we had one little gripe in that after looking for approximately an hour, we could not find the aviary which was on the map we picked up at Reception. An extremely helpful Groundsman by the name of David (from Liverpool) came to our rescue and informed us, to our disappointment, that it was no longer there. He did lead us to other interesting things to look at however. We informed Reception to be told that they were in the process of re-printing the maps. This wasn't any good for us as we had already wasted a long time searching. Maybe a cross could be put through the aviary spot on the maps still being used until these are re-printed. There is tight schedule if you want to fit everything in so we felt we had lost an hour of our time searching for something which did not exist.
I also have to make a comment in that after dinner when the quiz is being held in the Atrium there is not enough room for the amount of people usually attending this. In our case there were always a lot of people wanting to take part. Maybe this differs from break to break but I thought it worth pointing out. If you MUST attend the quiz then have an early dinner and don't linger to make sure you get a seat in the Atrium.
However, taking everything into account we did enjoy our time there. The team of youngsters running the shows are amazing. They also teach several of the activities along with running trivia quizzes twice daily. They are a very talented team. We will certainly visit Bodelwyddan Castle again.

Room Tip: If you require a patio then the Lodges are ideal If you are going to be doing lots of activities then a room without a patio is fine.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback and highlighting the good service your received from the two 'David's' I am thrilled to read that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Bodelwyddan Castle in the future,

Regards
Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Just back from a very nice weekend break in a garden lodge which had a lovely view of the pretty gardens. We have stayed at Bodelwyddan before, but not in the summertime, so it was very nice to see and enjoy the grounds and gardens. The walled garden is particularly attractive.

The staff are really very good, pleasant, polite and helpful. The food was really very good with an extensive choice of meals and it is nice that you can either help yourself to the buffet or be waited on.

The garden lodges are very nice and comfortable and you get an allocated parking place, but some of the parking places are quite a way from your room which could be an issue if you are disabled or less-mobile (or even elderly, which many of Warner guests are). Also, the walk from the lodges to the main part of the hotel for meals is very pleasant in the weather we have just enjoyed, but in the winter time or in the rain and wind it could be a problem, although an umbrella is provided in your room. Also, if you are in a wheelchair, the incline from the hotel is not very steep, but is sustained, and quite an effort if you are self-propelling or pushing a wheelchair. (Not too bad going towards the hotel, but quite an effort returning to your room).

The entertainment was good on one of our evenings, The Revolvers, who were a tribute to the bands of the 60s and were excellent to people of our age group. The other evenings' entertainment were by the in-house entertainers who were good but who were somewhat let down by the sound system.

Room Tip: Long walk from the Garden Lodges to main hotel and restaurants could be a problem in inclement weather
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lanzadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor, I'm delighted that you enjoyed all the various aspects of your stay and in particular your compliments for the team here, it is always gratifying when their efforts are appreciated.

Regards
Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews