We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and convenient for travelling by...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ARDEN HOUSE 322645

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The accommodation is over four floors and is larger than it looks from the outside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The accommodation is over four floors and is larger than it looks from the outside.
Theres a new dressing table for getting ready for an evening out.
Fully equipped kitchen which we hope has everything you need.
The kitchen has a roomy dining space with a table which opens out for more dining comfort.
The paddle staircase up to the attic room.Note: Not suitable for elderly or very young.
Up the paddle staircase into the attic room.
The attic room. Teenagers just love it!
Enjoy beautiful sunsets.
Fancy Christmas away this year, or maybe a short break when all the fuss is over?
Special occasion? How about wine and chocolates? Just let the owner know.
Stable Door - ideal for hot summer days and keeping pets and children safely inside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
louise553
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and convenient for travelling by train and with extra homely touches.”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very convenient for travelling to and from on railway. Liked the extra homely touches and the nice extras like a welcome basket, use of umbrella,sewing kit, dog bowls, bench outside to sit in the evening sun. Town itself has good food shops so if you travel by train stocking up is easy - the nearest food shop even loaned me a trolley so I could get the main shop 'home" easily. Home is the right word as you can quickly feel settled here. Good pub nearest the bridge was also a bonus for our stay.
One or two small cleaning issues which the owner assures will be passed on to the cleaner and remedied. Very quick and easy to contact owner who responds almost immediately to issues. Very friendly and helpful.
Easy internet access would be a bonus but there are Internet caf€s nearby. We did get on Internet in end.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
We always welcome constructive criticism ,if we aren't aware of any issues then we can't put things right for the next guests that stay.We always endeavour to respond promptly to guests queries and issues with the cottage because if we were staying somewhere we would expect that same courtesy ourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkichri...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“home from home”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Home from home, perfect location, everything you could have wanted in the cottage was there. Loved it didnt want to leave!, will deff book again been to barmouth so many times this is the best place we have stayed in and well worth the money. Photos dont do this cottage justice. Will recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the property for the money and location
Liked least: nothing, everything was great!.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind comments ,we would love for you to return and recommend our cottage as well,and we appreciate how tidy and clean you left it for us.As regards the photos you are absolutely correct,they don't do it justice something that we need to address asap.
Regards, Adrian ,Lillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingiz1
1 review
“Fantastic location cosy cottage”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Had a lovely few days long relaxing walks on the beach with the dogs right in centre of town with everything on your doorstep cosy cottage to spend the evenings

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Our dog Patch loves the beech @ Barmouth although he is getting a bit too old now to go very far ,poor thing !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
Darlaston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easy access to town , two minute walk to beach”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Nice cottage but stairs could be an issue with some guests , oven and hob could do with upgrading . Ideal location for town and beach , parking is not available at the property but with local car parks that let you park overnight this shouldn't be an issue , we would stay here again .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
We appreciate that the stairs to the top floor bedroom may be difficult to cope with ,but ,we do state that in our description,unsuitable for very young children and people with restricted mobility.
We also recommend that guests park their cars on St John's Hill on the Church Hall car park ( Art on the Hill Project)@£2 per day --it is the cheapest and safest place to park .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericutd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location....”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This small 3 storey rental is the perfect base for enjoying the beautiful coastal town of Barmouth and its surrounding beauty , designed inside to make the most of the space and kitted out with all the mod cons you'll need , the bed was really comfy , if you feel the need for Wi-Fi bring your own dongle.Myself , partner and jack Russell look forward to staying again ......perfect .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Arden Houses size is deceiving ,we do have a comfortable and spacious accommodation for 4 people and a small dog in tow always welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing