We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really cool place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sonas Cottage

Looking across the water towards the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking across the water towards the cottage
Bedroom Cast iron roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Looking across the water towards the cottage
Bedroom
Cast iron roll top bath
Cinema room
North Harris
View from the lounge
Sauna room
Fishing trip
Lounge
Kitchen/diner
Winter Beach
Sonas Cottage
Recliners in cinema room
Traditional Helo Sauna
Sonas Cottage
Cinema room
Bedroom
Traditional roll top bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
yantofram
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really cool place”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is such a cool place! I guess it's a risk, turning a three bed bungalow into somewhere that only sleeps two. Well it's paid off in my view. From the moment you first walk into sonas cottage you know you're in for a treat. Beautiful wood flooring, oak doors, white painted walls, beautiful, huge roll top bath (big enough to float in!) and then the big treats....the cinema room and sauna! I love my music but had ony read about the sonos system and didn't really know how it worked. We just loved being able to fill the place with music no matter which room we were in. The kitchen is fab, it just has everything you need and more besides. I'm afraid we failed to manage our use of the cinema room properly though. We chose to watch films in the evening and found the reclining chairs too comfortable and I don't think we lasted through the entire length of one single film.
Sonas cottage is nice and close to tarbert, where the ferry docks so we were able to do the last leg of a very long journey quickly.
Regrets? Only that we couldn't stay longer (although rough sea and fear of cancelled ferries nearly forced us!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling indulged, rested and treated to a bit of luxury
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First time visitors to Harris so went with an open mind especially as it was November , we left having experienced one of our best ever holidays, Sonas cottage is perfect in every aspect comfort, amenities,location, we relaxed we explored we had fun, the owners have created a perfect cottage to do all the above. We left with a heavy heart but we shall be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal accomodation in an ideal setting.”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Superb cottage, real luxury and lived up to our expectations.
Beautiful island, we had a fantastic week, loved visiting the beaches - which are outstanding and spotted a variety of wildlife, most excitingly golden eagles - a real thrill.
Returning to the cottage at the end of the day was a real treat, we loved the suana, the cinema and the sound system.....now on our shopping list!
We feel Sonas may have spoilt us for staying anywhere else - sad to leave but so happy we stayed :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFParker
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage to escape to”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This 'cottage' is a fantastic find on a gorgeous island. From all the reviews I believed I knew what to expect, but the stay still managed to surpass my expectations. The cottage is modern, clean and very well decorated. The touches of luxury throughout the house are fantastic and it feels like you have a new home with all the modern gadgets you could want for a week!

There has been a clear attention to detail throughout the house, and we were almost disappointed that we had a week of wonderful weather so couldn't use rain as an excuse to hide away inside and enjoy them all more!

We loved the place and were sad to leave. I would recommend Sonas without hesitation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeeps
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was a special treat for us to celebrate our 'Silver Wedding' and it was just the most idyllic holiday ever. The cottage is stunning, with everything you could ever want or need! We enjoyed the sauna and cinema room in the evenings and explored this beautiful island throughout the day. Angus and Catriona made it extra special when a beautiful bouquet arrived with wine and chocolates on our Anniversary morning. Thank you to Granny Joan!! Joan is an absolute sweetheart who shared some history about Harris and we enjoyed very much her knowledge about the 'Whaling Station' which lies at the bottom of 'Sonas' My husband LOVED the music system! He was like a kid in a sweetie shop!

Once again, thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cottage with us. It was a perfect way to celebrate and one which we will always remember.

Corrine & Alistair Mackenzie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing! All perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing