We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
44
35
16
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
35
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main facilities wee cafe excellent site per day plenty of hot water tent pegs motor home laundry facilities awesome views shower cubicle on arrival stayed here for one night motorhome pitch campers hook exposure
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We visited this site before, back in September 2013. I stand by what I said overall in the review I posted then but must take account that in certain aspects I would have expected some 'keeping up' with the facilities. In four years, the main facilities are exactly the same, not necessarily a bad thing, but a number of the sink basins in the Gents had no sink plugs and one of the showers was missing the knob which controls the water temperature. Essentially, that reduces the number of usable sink basins to half and the showers in the main block for Gents, from three to two. Simple tweaks required but in 10 days of our stay, not attended to. Not sure how long they've been like that.

The above notwithstanding, the customer service from staff were excellent at all times. The site is a great place to pitch but do be aware that since the introduction of the NC500, there is much greater noise and traffic from the road. Do also note that, unlike a previous poster suggests, which is misleading, there is WiFi available on site and the charge is either per day or per week at reasonable charges. However, access is limited to one device only. So, you can't use a multiple of mobile, tablet or laptop on the same sign-in.

Finally, do appreciate that if you want a pitch on the front, overlooking the bay, the pitches are close together but that's your choice. Being a camper with a tent, I would recommend pitching in the area behind the main building to afford some shelter from the wind because if the wind does pick up, and it invariably does, you'll feel the full force from the exposure pitched on the bay front.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dillan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Staff were helpful and friendly on arrival. Showers etc were very clean and well maintained. We took a drive in to Ullapool to sample the best fish and chips ever! The small seaside town of Ullapool is a must to visit with lovely little shops and views from the quayside. Would definitely return again to the campsite if we do the NC 500 trip again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SharonandDavidW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The bad news is that it's a strip of land crammed full of tight pitches, not enough room for an awning and space (although in fairness with the exposure on the spit on many occasions it would blow away anyway). The good news is that it's out of town and so not as rammed as the sardine tin in Ullapool.
So.. space was Ok.

There is no Wi-Fi, not ideal given the patchy signal in the area, although we got perfect digital TV reception

The facilities are OK. Not good, not bad. Plenty of hot water and clean, but dated and cramped.

Staff are friendly and helpful, although only on site part time.

Given that the site in town is a sardine can, and the site at Achilitibue is a long way out, this is far and away the best option.

It's a decent site but with a bit of investment in facilities, wifi and slightly bigger pitches it could be excellent.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KermitF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

First time with motorhome at this site .Stunning views clean and tidy.Hard standings at rear front ones grass slight slope but looking out to sea.
Wardens Robbie and Gill very helpful.Not far from Ullapool.Will return again

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MERVYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

One of my favourite camping spots, with stunning views out over the water. Booked same day, very accommodating to our late arrival (10pm). Pebble beach, clean facilities and situated near the centre Ullapool.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Krimson_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews