We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting, homey comfort, delightful hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tamra M
2 reviews
“Beautiful setting, homey comfort, delightful hosts”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Penkiln cottage is a wonderful place to stay if you are in this part of Scotland. The Cottage itself is spacious and clean. It's located on a lovely farm with outstanding views of the surrounding meadows and mountains. Mark and Diane are excellent hosts, informative and available but certainly not intrusive. Mark introduced us to his hen and his pig Barbara, who we had the pleasure of feeding our food scraps. Barbara is very talkative and shows her appreciation. Newton Stewart is a cute little town, has everything you need and not touristy. The farm itself has options for scenic walks plus there is so much to see and do in the surrounding area, we could only scratch the surface. Great for cycling and birdwatching. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Penkiln and definitely will come back if the opportunity presents itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's .
Glad to hear you had a lovely time here with us at Kirkland Farm. People are always surprised that there are so many places to visit near to us at the Farm, and we try and guide people to as many of them as we can . Hope you have had a nice time with the rest of your vacation , and we would love to welcome you back sometime in the future . If you need any help with your family tree , we would be happy to help you out . Many thank's and kind regards Mark and Diane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place for a rest”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Having our own business it is very difficult to get away so when the opportunity came to get away , straight onto google for places to stay that would also take dogs. Penkiln cottage appeared in the search and looked ideal so we booked. This hidden gem was amazing, a warm and friendly greeting from Mark on our arrival, milk in the fridge and a little goodie basket on the kitchen table. The views are fantastic , the location remote yet 5 minutes drive in to town with it's abundance of shops and eateries. This place has everything you will even need for a self catering holiday and all to a very high standard. Thank you once again Diane and Mark for a great stay.
Alan, Pauline and the dogs from Kendal.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's .
Many thank's for your review on our cottage at Kirkland Farm. We always appreciate people taking the time to write a review , and we are always very happy to welcome people who chose to spend the holiday time here with us .
Hope to see you both again sometime in the near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian G
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage in a central location”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just back from a great week staying at Penkiln. Newton Stewart is central to a number of interesting towns and villages that are great to explore, even with wee ones! The cottage is very well equipped, spotlessly clean and the owners give great tips on places to visit. Definitely recommend this cottage and Newton Stewart for a trip.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Dear Guest's
Many thank's for your review on our cottage at Kirkland Farm. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write your review , and It dose make it much easier for other potential guest's to decide to book their holiday with us . Many thank's once again , and we would be delighted to welcome you all back for another stay with us , in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I say hidden as it is up, down and along a road that leads to one of the best located holiday homes I've been to. My family and I (including the dog) have just spent a lovely relaxing week at Penkiln Cottage. Our stay was boosted by lots of blue sky days, but the cottage and its surrounding would stand up to rain, snow or any weather that comes during a stay.
Mark and Dianne make you very welcome and the cottage has everything you need and more. It is a perfect location to base a stay, whether it be for a stroll down to the town or a day out in the many stunning places Dumfries and Galloway has to offer. One week is not long enough and we are already looking forward to another visit.
Don't forget to save the food scraps for the pig.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Dear Guest's .
What a lovely review you have posted for us at Kirkland Farm . We can't thank you enough for taking the time to post your comments , and we are glad you had such a lovely time at Penkiln cottage . People really do take a great deal of notice of these reviews , and it really dose help new holiday makers decide on whether to book or not . Once again many thank's for your kind words , and we hope to see you all again in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Askham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully situated and appointed 'getaway' cottage”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very friendly and helpful owners, Mark and Diane. Nothing too much trouble. Everything we needed in the cottage. Very generous welcome basket - very much appreciated. Stayed with my 86 year-old mum and she said many, many times what an extremely comfortable holiday cottage it was and that the owners had obviously put a great deal of thought into how to make sure their guests could have the best stay possible. Mark and Diane gave us a lot of information about the area - both verbally and in the form of leaflets and booklets in the cottage, and, following their recommendation, we had a wonderful trip up the west coast to Girvan, spotting basking seals and many sea birds on the way, and had a glorious picnic on the beach! Thank you, Mark and Diane, for a very relaxing and most enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness, peacefulness, beauty of the area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Dear Guest's .
What a lovely review you have posted for us, at Kirkland Farm. We really appreciate it when people take the time to write their reviews for us . Diane and I are glad you had such a lovely time, and hopefully we will see you again sometime in the very near future .P.S Hope you liked the home made jam !
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing