We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just like home but with better views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tomilola
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just like home but with better views”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Visited in January and absolutely loved the cottage. Very comfortable and had all the modcons of home. I was there with hubby and my toddler and had no problems - well-heated, well-stocked, had everything we needed. If you're going in winter, take your slippers as the floors do get cold (we had to run out to buy slippers :)

My toddler loved feeding Barbara the pig and still talks about her! Mark went out of his way to make us welcome and help us have a good time. The welcome basket and fresh milk were a very nice touch. Because we visited in Jan, unfortunately most things were closed, so we couldn't visit any of the places we would have loved to. But we did a bit of walking, visited the wild goat and red deer parks (both were a bit underwhelming) and the chocolate factory (just stayed in the play area).

We're already looking forward to visiting again, but definitely in the summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the property and the pig
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Dear Guest.
Many thank's for taking the time to post a review on Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. We are happy you had a nice stay with us , and we love showing the children around the farm , ( It's nice to see the reaction on their faces when they see the pig close up !) Look forward to seeing you all soon .
kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdpGallow...
Galloway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting...”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed at Penkiln Cottage over Christmas and enjoyed every minute.
We were met on arrival by Mark and Diane and shown round the cottage. They were informative and friendly and had left us a basket of festive treats with a Christmas tree and decorations to boot!
The cottage is very cosy and comfortable. It has a warm welcoming atmosphere with gorgeous traditional scottish soft furnishings which all add to the buildings natural charm. Bedrooms are an excellent size with good storage and very comfortable beds. The bunk beds are single bed size and two adults in our group were very comfortable . The shower room is large and very pleasing on the eye. Does what it says on the tin...kitchen facilities are fab. All you could possibly need in a large country kitchen. There's a great table which we all sat round at night and had a few wee drams.
The setting itself is idyllic. Sat atop a little hill, Penkiln Cottage is reached via a lovely meandering country lane, from which views of the local hills are wonderful. The cottage has excellent parking, a barbecue and an outside seating area as well as the lovely little bridge over the Penkiln burn, only a very short walk down the lane. I saw it during a hard frost and it was breathtakingly beautiful. Ideally situated for walking, hiking, cycling and getting away from it all, I can highly recommend Mark and Diane's gorgeous retreat, Penkiln Cottage.
You gotta go and say hello to the family pig too, he's quite a character
Hope to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No internet! It's available in the town but I was glad to get away from it all!
Liked least: Not enough pics of the interior of the cottage to do it justice. It's really really nice!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Dear Guest.
Many thank's for such a lovely review . We are very happy you a had such a nice time with us here at Kirkland Farm. We always appreciate it when we receive a review, and we know future guests use them as a guide when booking . We look forward to seeing you all in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmitchell...
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful relaxing countryside retreat!”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Amazing spacious cottage in the country, not far from local amenities. On our arrival we were greeted by Mark who showed us around the cottage and gave us some information on the surrounding area. A lovely surprise was the welcome basket of goodies that was left in the kitchen a very personal touch. The cottage is spotless and very well equiped with everything you need. Lovely decoration and the soft furnishings suit the cottage down to a tee. The kitchen is fully loaded with everything you need. The views are spectacular. Mark was very helpful in suggesting places to go. We saw deer on our roam around the surrounding farmland. Our dog loved it too, I think its the first time he has seen and heard a pig! George and Belle are beautiful springers and very playful. I would love to return when the weather is a little better and take the bikes as there are lots of cycle areas to choose from. I would recommend this cottage to everyone.
Thanks for making our stay very enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet counrtyside and beautiful views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Dear Guest.
Many thank's for posting such lovely comments. We very much appreciate the time guest's take in reviewing their stay with us at Kirkland Farm, and we would love to welcome you all back to stay with us.
Hope to see you all soon !!
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craven2k3
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with blissful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A fabulous quiet retreat in blissful surroundings. Everything you need to relax indoors and so much on the doorstep to explore outdoors. The pictures don't do it justice.
Excellent hospitality and just a case of deciding how soon we can return.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Dear Guest.
Many thank's for taking the time to review our cottage . We do appreciate the time people take to write a review , and it is always nice to receive positive feedback. Hope to see you all again in the very near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny P
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely late summer stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Penkiln Cottage is well-equipped, comfortable and peacefully-situated. We had breakfast outside most days accompanied by bird song and the sound of the stream. The cottage is well-located for walking and visiting the numerous tourist attractions of Dumfries and Galloway. There are lovely shorter walks around the farm and in neighbouring woodland, which you can do from the doorstep. Longer walks are easily reached by car.

Dumfries and Galloway seems to be full of farm shops and farmers' markets: great for trying locally-produced food, and the kitchen at Penkiln Cottage has everything you need to cook-up a feast.

There are lots of pubs offering food locally, we tried Hill o'House and were very impressed - great dishes and generous portions.

Mark and Diane are very helpful hosts. They allowed us to book a non-standard week's stay to fit-in with our available dates, gave us good advice on request and even posted my forgotten items back to me on my return home! Really enjoyed our sunny week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Dear Guest's .
Many thank's for the lovely review , we greatly appreciate the time people take to post their reviews . We have had a lovely summer again this year , and our second brood of Barn Owls are coming along just fine . Glad you had a lovely time at Penkiln cottage , and we very much look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing