We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good value for money”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ballachulish, Glencoe, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Thelawson...
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 22 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

If you're looking for a no frills, value for money holiday let then this is the one for you. The cottage is comfortable and equipped with all your basic needs. A good night's sleep is guaranteed - comfy beds and a perfectly peaceful setting.
It's best selling point is the great location - a lovely village next to a Loch and within walking distance of Glencoe. The local pub restaurant is opposite and directly behind the cottage is the small supermarket.
Nick, the host is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much!

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen F
1 review
“Lovely, cosy retreat”
Reviewed 16 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019

I stayed here with my husband and small dog for ten nights. Lovely cottage , well equipped with everything you need for a self catering holiday . It boasts beautiful scenery from all around. WiFi good ,shops are a two minute walk away. You can eat out in the laroch again a few minutes walk away but do check if they are doing meals in the low season. Great walks from your doorstep and if your feeling really energetic you could bag several Munro's which are very nearby ! But like us we admired them from the comfort of the reclining Sofa's in the cottage . lovely village , quiet but not too rural .
The host's are next door and always happy to inform you of walks , places to go and to eat out. They made sure we were comfortable and had clean towels and bedding.
Thank you Neil and Katya for a lovely , relaxing break. We will definitely be back.
Helen and Allg

Date of stay: January 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten H
1 review
“Perfect location - top tip”
Reviewed 1 January 2019 for a stay in December 2018

We have been guests at Strathassynt cottage for a number of years now - and we keep coming back. The cottage is ideal for everybody who looks for comfort and short ways to amenities. Our dogs love the nearby quarry walks and the ever so popular peninsula walk along Loch Leven is only three minutes away. For those with an interest in local history or film settings, the area will not disappoint. The Tourist Information Office, which offers a wealth of information and ideas for all the family, is only a stone throw away. Walkers, bikers and drivers can all find what they are looking for when staying at Strathassynt. Neil and his family provide an excellent service with a personal touch. Nothing is too much bother for them. We are looking forward to coming back.

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyCutt...
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The location is perfect for exploring the Glencoe area. Pub, supermarket and other local facilities in walking distance. Great views and hill walks can be started right from the doorstep. The house itself is large with a garden but parts of the interior are a bit dated especially the yellowed bathroom floors would need an update and were not really inviting for a shower. Some minor details such as as broken paper towel holder or worn cutlery and kitchen equipment are not what you expect from a holiday home. Cleanliness was ok. The owners were friendly and helpful and close by for any requests, although I would prefer to be welcomed with a „How are you?“ rather than with a „How would you like to pay?“.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2018
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Regarding some of the minor negatives you found, we are aware one bathroom floor has discoloured very slightly, and it will be replaced at the first opportunity. The cutlery was purchased in March, one month before your arrival, and the kitchen equipment is replaces regularly as required. We're not sure what you expect from a holiday home, but I don't think there's many places that provide everything brand new for every guest. Ads for your comment on how you were greeted we're at a loss. Every guest is welcomed warmly and shown all the facilities available in the guest house first, and only at that point is payment asked for. Payment is due on arrival and we're not sure how else we could ask for it. We work very hard every day in the guest house, and on cottage changeover days, to ensure both are spotlessly clean and all our guests are comfortable. We also invest heavily in making sure the cottage is well-equipped with absolutely everything a guest requires. Indeed, on the rare occasion a guest has asked for something that we had not previously thought of, we get it and provide it. Yes, the interior is a little dated, but it it is exactly as presented in the photos, and it is reflected in the price, which all our guests find very reasonable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braingirl...
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home from home holiday base”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We've been coming to the area since 1991 but never stayed in Ballachulish before. Hubby saw the cottage and thought it a perfect base to explore for us , our 19 year old daughter and small dog.

The cottage itself is in a superb base. There's a well stocked Coop minutes away, a pub across the road, restaurant and chippy too. There's also a great eaterie situated within the tourist info centre , also a few moments way.

There's gorgeous views from the cottage too.The cottage itself is a perfect, home from home base. Bright sitting room with plenty of space, a well stocked breakfasting kitchen with every conceivable thing you would need to prepare meals ( this was my week off as chief cook so we dined out!).We had a spacious double bedroom with loads of storage plus an en suite. Our 19 year old had a twin room with the bonus of an en suite too - a luxury for a teenager and it kept her happy.

One bonus of this cottage is the owners were close to hand as they ran the b and b next door. We've never had that booking self catering before and it was definitely a bonus.

We received a warm welcome and were shown round the cottage and given pointers where to dine etc. The welcoming provisions were greatly appreciated too - a truly thoughtful touch.We celebrated my 50th birthday whilst up there and , hand on heart, it was perfect.

If you're looking for a really good base, not too busy, not too isolated that provides a real home from home, this place is the ticket. Just trying to see with Paul when we can go back.

Thanks again,

Carol, Paul and Elise

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2018
Thanks very much for such a detailed and positive review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you all, and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. You'll be welcome back any time!
Neil and Katya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.