We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tlgembrit
New Glarus, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Harbour House is a perfect location for enjoying all Exmoor has to offer. Waking up to beautiful views across Porlock Bay and enjoying breakfast on the deck never gets old. Being able to walk a few steps to restaurants and pub, without any attendant noise from those establishments, is a real treat.

The rental, set on two levels, is spacious and comfortable for four people. We felt we were in a friendly, cottage shabby-chic environment. It offers a great selection of books in the sitting room. The kitchen is small and could do with a few helpful additions, like a mixing bowl that could double as a salad bowl. A shower would be nice but the bath was fine for our needs. The only available basic supplies are listed accurately in the description so bring everything yourself with regards to seasonings and oils. This spider-phobe had a few issues with cobwebs and spiders but my friends didn't notice them so that may just be me!

We enjoyed our visit very much and look forward to staying at Harbour House again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swampies2...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful view, quiet location and clean.”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Porlock Weir is a quiet, harbour village with little to do but admire the view and wander around - bliss.
As the beach comprises of large pebbles with no sand, this tends to keep away the 'windbreaker brigade' meaning those that do visit lean towards the simple pleasures of a seaside holiday: uninterrupted viewing of the coast, crabbing off the harbour, eating ice cream, watching the boats and pottering around. On an evening the area became quiet and relaxed with many people just enjoying the atmosphere and a drink from either the handy convenience store, or one of the two pubs.
Our first impression of the apartment was how clean it was, including the fresh smelling bedding and towels. Facitilies were as expected for a holiday rental and although it doesn't have a shower or a dishwasher, this in no way detracted from the accommodation.
The apartment serves itself well as a base to explore the wider area and is a welcome retreat after a day out walking or perhaps visiting nearby Dunster Castle.
The owners were friendly, welcoming and seemed interested in knowing a little about us which made the experience much more personal.
Tips: take a pair of good shoes if you want to go on the beach and buy a pack of bacon bits for the crabs.
Would go back again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wily-Were...
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too much for too little!”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Having stayed at Harbour House previously, I knew what to expect and it makes a very good bolthole for accessing Exmoor and the coast path.

There had been some changes with replaced carpets and fresh paint but the ancient cooker and useless fan extractor; no proper shower - a problem for my elderly mother - and an expectation that the stunning location is everything has started to wear a little thin.

Also the fact that there is no possibility of any low occupancy reduction means that I would recommend looking at other places.

They may not have the incredible views, but you'll probably get better value for your money.

I'll report back my findings!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location!
Liked least: The fact that there is the barest minimum of facilities and updating.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location and view but cottage needs updating”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The location and view from the cottage are fantastic and was enough to sell it to me. The cottage was clean and well kept but the kitchen and bathroom were very dated. There is good food and drink to be found within walking distance and the pub had a nice friendly atmosphere. I would recommend this to a friend but I would warn them about the fixtures and fittings as most cottages now are fitted out to a very high standard.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing