We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
71
47
19
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
47
19
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade chips malt whisky evening food great company dinner menu a wee bit lick of paint charming hotel sunday evening cranachan seafood linguine scottish breakfast smoked salmon cullen skink sea view ruth scotland
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Last year when in Gairloch we were extremely disappointed at the lack of vegetarian choice in this hotel but can now report that they have at least two dishes that vegetarians can eat - usually one on the menu and one 'special'. Last night we both had stuffed portobello mushrooms that were absolutely delicious. Not only was the dish great in terms of its flavour, it was also beautifully presented (photo attached). Service was caring and friendly. The dining room has spectacular views over the bay. We would definitely return here.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We had a one night stay here June 27th and it was awful.
Reception indifferent,room work in progress...not reflected by price however!
Breakfast if you like microwaved scrambled eggs,salmon unavailable...
Cooked breakfast seriously overcooked
Staff yet again indifferent to any complaints,they clearly haven’t been far.
This gIves Scotland a very bad image.
We then stayed ar Charleston House again in Gairloch,this is on a different planet absolutely marvellous,what a contrast and cheaper to boot!
It’s your choice ...

Room tip: Don’t bother
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paulawha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We booked a table for our 1st night staying in our usual wee house in Gairloch. We had a meal here the last time we were staying but it was in the old restaurant. On reading that it had been done up, we decided to try it again. What a delicious meal. Just perfect. The Cranachan was particularly special. Best one I have ever had. We were delighted. So handy too. Service was a bit slow. Had to ask a few times for the bill, and when it came - no one came back! We had to find a waitress. That being said - it didn’ t spoil our evening. Compliments to the Chef.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Ja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Was greeted by a very friendly pretty face at reception, room was small but clean and bed was comfy, unfortunately no shower just a bath, which is strange nowadays! Great service in the bar by yet another pretty face (Anna maybe?) Had dinner there, which was sufficient, nothing to rave about really, cooked breakfast was lovely, was adequate for an over night stay

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank rae18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

I was here 2years ago and the food and menu was excellent with lots of choice. I returned tonight expecting the same excellence, oh what a difference the menu choice was disgusting there were no salads to add insult to injury. I will not be returning for the remainder of my holiday

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Joan2857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews