We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellant location for old Harwich , Dovercourt...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Staircase  up to Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Kitchen
Bathroom
Courtyard Garden
The river Stour at John Constables Flatford mill 25 minutes drive
The Stour estuary
Views off The half penny pier. 1 minute walk away
Harwich Harbour 1 minute walk away
The Waverley Steam Paddle boat at Half penny pier
Harwich Harbour 1 minute walk away
Half penny pier took from on board The Waverley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Harwich, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John W
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellant location for old Harwich , Dovercourt Beach local restaurants,ferry trips, places of interestetc.”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Cottage was ideal for our older family of 6.Stairs quite steep and having combined bathroom and toilet on ground floor could be awkward for those sleeping on 2nd floor, also could be dangerous if young children in party as no handrail
Kitchen table cramped and cooker didn't seem to have good heat control. Could do with more electrical sockets as kept having to unplug toaster/kettle/microwave when trying to use. Kitchen could do with upgrade. Also having a canoe on corridor/kitchen wall seemed to constrict and reduce space for perhaps cupboards or shelves for more storage areas. Parking near property could be a awkward with restrictions on road. Maybe more information provided with description of amenities would help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location and obvious age of property.
Liked least: Cramped kitchen area and problems with parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
The Cooker,fridge,washing machine microwave and toaster are all brand new.
We stayed there last week, baked a pie in the oven and cooked all week on it and it was fine so dont know what problems you had.
When we do the winter overhaul,we have some windows to replace as they sills are beyond repair and other works. ill add another kitchen power point then.

we are thinking of moving the dining table into the front room as there is a large area there and putting an existing unit that is under the window in its place for storage purposes.
I cannot put a rail up on the staircase due to the construction of the walls and that it is also a grade 11 listed building and is 550 years old.
You can see the angle of the stairs in the pictures but have never had in issue with them nor has anyone that has stayed.
Sorry about the canoe but we are waiting on a garage and have nowhere else to store it, although it is not wider than the walkway to the bathroom.

This is our second home and not a property that is just set up to make money as a lot of them are.
we love our Harwich home and hope that those who come to stay have an enjoyable experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely historic home in old Harwich”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at this property for 10 weeks due to home repair, it was ideal for what we needed. Lovely, cosy lounge, excellent bedrooms and bathroom, kitchen could do with updating but very good overall. Stairs are little steep so may not be ideal for very young children or older people. Our daughter is 6 and she had no problems.
We enjoyed our time here, and was convenient for work and school. If holidaying then ideal for the Quay and beach, parks and restaurants.
Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Thanks Charlotte we have just started to update the kichen and have replaced the Microwave, Cooker and moved the Washing machine back into the kitchen.

Regards

Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M
Bb7 9jd
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely old property providing a good base for exploring this interesting area”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

7 of us stayed at the cottage and it accommodated us all easily. There was plenty of space for the children to play and for the family to eat together. We had a family party with 26 people there at one time and everyone loved the house . Harwich is well worth a visit with plenty to do , the cottage is near the beach and harbour. The Thai at the end of the road is excellent and there are a number of cafés and pubs nearby. Colchester is 17 miles away with its castle and good shopping. The owners Michael and Tracey were very helpful and approachable

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Thanks Kay, Im glad you enjoyed your stay.
We have just replaced the Microwave, toaster and the 500mm Cooker with a 600mm wide one.
We have also moved the Washing machine back into the kitchen from the private utility room to make everyones stay more enjoyable and convienient.

Regards

Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john l
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We first stayed at ye olde Harwich house when we wanted to come and see the New Years firework display which is held every year there.
Wow !
What a place ! Almost 500 hundreds years old as i remember, and constructed using items such as old ships timers and the like. Michael and Tracey the owners are the passionate owners who know all about it's history and lavish the sort of care on it that's normally reserved for vintage cars.
Centrally located in the old sea port of Harwich itself, it's surrounded by atmospheric pubs, fine dining and 2 mins from the old pier - if you have a yacht you need to tie up for the night !! Swimming in the sea all year round, off the beach 2 mins in the other direction, is possible if you're made of hardier stuff.
Harwich train station ( also a 2min walk ) is the end of the line drawing you away from civilization, but can whisk you back to central London in about 90 mins.
So for us it was like finding a little goldmine and our return this summer for 2 weeks recharged our batteries to get us through to next spring. Although we are only two i can see it would be quiet possible to sleep the 7 they advertise, with the availability of 3 bedrooms on 3 floors. But quiet honestly, the low rates they charge means sharing wasn't an issue for us.
Hopefully we can get back again next year and this review hasn't made it too popular and overbooked !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Probably..... the ancient fireplace, as a feature
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Very kind words. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Diamond on the seacoast”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had the great pleasure of staying at this beautiful home...Love at first sight indeed. The interior of the house is beautiful with a very warm homely feel. Great location to the local pubs/restaurants and it literally takes 2 mins to get to the beach. Harwich is a great place to visit, and with a beautiful home like this one..one might consider staying indefinitely.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2014
Thanks so much glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing