We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOVELY LITTLE GET AWAYS”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bake House

The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Small but well visited Shhh dont tell anyone, its one of the UKs best secret escapes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Small but well visited
Shhh dont tell anyone, its one of the UKs best secret escapes
The Green in Summer, yards from the door.
The Bakers Shop
Bake house entrance
The Prom and Low Lighthouse in Summer, on the door step.
Lounge area with flat screen tv, sky and WiFi
Kitchen area, fully equiped with electric fan oven.
Master Bedroom with kings size bed
Modern Wet Room with toilet and handbasin.
Utility room with washing machine
View from Harwich stone pier
The Quay and pier
The Quay and Pier
West Street old Harwich
A typical old Harwich street
The Old Bank Old Harwich
Lifeboat museum
Dovercourt Lighthouse
Dovercourt Beach
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harwich, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
christine...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVELY LITTLE GET AWAYS”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Small but very well decorated . Very clean . Good kitchen items [ egg cups ect ). Lots of places to eat. Flexistow is a good day out .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was so cute
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadameBut...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a fantastic stay at The Bake House. It is a charming property in a central location in the old part of Harwich. The accommodation was very comfortable and had everything we needed. It is in a great location to enjoy the surrounding area as well as Harwich itself. We were very impressed with the quality of the property and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Booking couldn't have been easier and communication with Paul (the owner) was excellent throughout.

Whilst you're in the area, we highly recommend a trip to Felixstowe on the foot ferry. There are also many lovely eateries and pubs in Harwich, highlights include The Alma Inn and The Pier Hotel. We had never visited this part of the country before and were impressed with both The Bake House and everything the area had to offer. We hope to visit again very soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clare G
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful hideaway. This little cottage was perfect for our 4 day mini break and had everything we needed and more. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Paul, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful . We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private secure location and the beautiful bedroom
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clercqy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful bolt hole which was so needed by me as a single female. Paul Valentine was welcoming and could not do enough. I shall be back as Old Harwich is a friendly and welcoming place. Both Pier restaurants are amazing. The fish and chip shop, a Pieseas, is the best you will taste. As a runner and cyclist, the promenade goes on and on. The cottage is gorgeous. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Paul

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$72
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing