We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bake House

The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Small but well visited Shhh dont tell anyone, its one of the UKs best secret escapes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Small but well visited
Shhh dont tell anyone, its one of the UKs best secret escapes
The Green in Summer, yards from the door.
The Bakers Shop
Bake house entrance
The Prom and Low Lighthouse in Summer, on the door step.
Lounge area with flat screen tv, sky and WiFi
Kitchen area, fully equiped with electric fan oven.
Master Bedroom with kings size bed
Modern Wet Room with toilet and handbasin.
Utility room with washing machine
View from Harwich stone pier
The Quay and pier
The Quay and Pier
West Street old Harwich
A typical old Harwich street
The Old Bank Old Harwich
Lifeboat museum
Dovercourt Lighthouse
Dovercourt Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harwich, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Clare G
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful hideaway. This little cottage was perfect for our 4 day mini break and had everything we needed and more. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Paul, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful . We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private secure location and the beautiful bedroom
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clercqy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful bolt hole which was so needed by me as a single female. Paul Valentine was welcoming and could not do enough. I shall be back as Old Harwich is a friendly and welcoming place. Both Pier restaurants are amazing. The fish and chip shop, a Pieseas, is the best you will taste. As a runner and cyclist, the promenade goes on and on. The cottage is gorgeous. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Paul

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The area is known to me and, although I regularly visit,I wanted to stay within the historic heart of the old town, rather than in Dovercourt. I knew this would be a great location but was really pleased with the accommodation itself. It was spotlessly clean, well equipped, warm and cosy.There was a plentiful supply of towels etc and cleaning products were available.There was even some coffee/hot chocolate and milk sachets available. The cottage was easily accessible with easy street parking. It was secure and would be ideal/safe for a female to stay alone. I will definitely choose to return here in preference to hotels nearby.The owner Paul was very helpful with the booking and went the extra mile to help with a special request. i really cannot fault it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall feel of the accommodation
Liked least: The only improvement might have been an additional shelf in the shower room
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misscriti...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

What a hidden gem! The Bake House was a truly wonderful, and quirky stay in the Old Harwich centre, in between the narrow streets. The accomodation was absolutely ideal for us - we enjoyed the open plan kitchen / living space with the seperate utility area and bathroom. This meant we were able to cook dinner in each others company whilst utilising the Sky plus box to watch films we had recorded during the day - a bonus! The bedroom was stunning and the bed was extra comfy - the massaging chair was also a much appreciated touch. Paul (the owner) was excellent with communication, meet and greet and was a brilliant advisor of 'places to go'. I thank Paul again for his warm, friendly and professional approach both before and during our stay. We had no complaints or issues during our 3 night 'minibreak' and thoroughly enjoyed it. We are very much missing the Bake House already!

In terms of the local area - we had an excellent fish and chip dinner from the fish and chip shop opposite the Bake House - delicious and good value! We drove a short 5 minutes away to Morrisons to gather our supplies for our stay which was handy, and a local shop a short walk away from the property was handy for last minute stocking up. We visited The Alma pub which was beautiful and kooky, Thai Up the Quay which did the best thai food we've had to date, along with a extremely friendly team, we also visited The Pier for lunch which again was delicious. I would definitely recommend catching the 15 min ride 'foot ferry' from Harwich port over to Felistowe - we actually walked from the port to Felistowe centre with the lovely high street and countless amusements, however for those who prefer not to walk for too long there was a '77' bus running every hour from the port into the town centre. We took it upon ourselves to make the most of the surrounding area and enjoyed the long(ish) walk. High St has all the usual high street chain stores but lots of lovely independent stores as well.

I believe to drive to Felistowe (lots of car parking spaces along the seafront!) it takes about 50 mins. The ferry ride took 15 minutes (£4 one way, £8 return each) and besides the novelty, it was a lovely trip away across the sea!

All in all a wonderful break away from the hustle and bustle of 'city of London' life. Thank you again to Paul for your hospitality and I will definitely recommend this wonderful property to friends and family for the future!

Hannah and Matt x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property, I loved the fact we had a lounge / kitchen and beautiful bedroom / bathroom all in one little detached property, and our own little entrance down a lovely alleywall - we felt very hidden and self contained - very private!
Liked least: No negatives at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMapperl...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Holiday!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned home from a lovely break in Harwich. The Bake house was perfect for all our needs for a brilliant short break!

We were in a great location in the old town which was a stones throw away from the sea and the lovely promenade which provided a lovely walk from the old town to dovercourt and gave us the opportunity to experience the beautiful views across the harbour! The old town has traditional pubs and places to eat. The pier is a lovely spot there is a couple of cafes selling tea or coffee (or even a jug of pimms or two !!) and watch the boats sail in and out! also the children enjoyed the icecream!
They also sell fresh seafood if you want to enjoy a taste of the coast!!
The main High Street was a short walk away with lots of shops and places to eat.

The Bake house itself provided excellent facilities with a traditional homely feel.
There was a fully equipped kitchen with washing machine (which was a godsend with the children!!) We also took full advantage of the free Wifi and flat screen TV with Sky connection (which kept the children entertained in the evening!)
We will definately stay here again and feel very privileged to have managed to book this in such a busy time early booking is definately recommended !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bake house was beautfully decorated with a very romantic feel! in a perfect location
Liked least: Going home!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad you had a good time and hope you will return next year and sample the newly added features we are fitting over the winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing