We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sausage rolls”
Review of The Cornish Bakery

The Cornish Bakery
Ranked #2 of 7 Quick Bites in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 October 2017

I was on holiday in Lyme Regis with my husband & daughter this week. We visited the Lyme Cornish bakery twice, the service was impeccable & according to my husband the sausage rolls were to die for!!!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ash1739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme R, Manager at The Cornish Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your kind comments - these have been passed onto the staff, who are highly praised each day for their work. A good team with a passion for pleasing the customers.

I have to agree with your husband on the sausage rolls - something I can't go a day without enjoying myself!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Lyme Regis was busy on an October afternoon needed a quick bite to eat, walking past the counter looked appealing so we popped in for a pastry, pastie and coffee, there were a good amount of tables inside and can take out as well if required, staff were very friendly, helpful and looked happy, the pastie was a traditional and was warmed through nicely and had really good flavour the sausage rolls were tasty and the pastry was flaky, the cappuccino was a regular on the small side but had good coffee content, the tea was also nice and strong in a quite dainty teapot, all in all a pleasant place to have a coffee, would recommend.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 1RoseyGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme R, Manager at The Cornish Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments. A pleasure to read that you enjoyed all aspects of what was given to you. We pride ourselves on everything that we have, and that of course includes our team of staff, who do enjoy themselves as they work.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for perhaps a selection of all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped in here around 2.50 for a cuppa and a pasty , service could of been better no smile or thankyou very much just what you want !!!! The pasties even the sweet potato and feta had too much pepper and chilli flakes in , so my tounge was burning as too much . But saying that a nice little cafe with plenty of seating . And we were glad they were open as mist placed stop serving at two .

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Mrs M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme R, Manager at The Cornish Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to us. We like to be able to stay open later in the day so the visitors to Lyme can enjoy a relaxing drink and snack when they have wandered away from the beach. A treat for everyone. It's a shame to hear that the pasty was not to your liking, a delight to most of our customers.
The staff will of course be told of the comments and I hope that will not deter you from returning to us in the future to try another of the mouth watering selection of snacks that we have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Have been going here since a small child. Really fresh sausage rolls, pastries, and pies. The best! Great place to stop in and get something for the road or take along to the beach.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme R, Manager at The Cornish Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments to the Cornish Bakery. It is a delight to read how enjoyed our treats have been through the years to you. We look forward to you enjoying it for a lot longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Hi i came to Lyme Regis for a dayout at the weekend and was served by a short man with ginger hair. He didnt come across as being rude but it wouldnt hurt to crack a smile..the rest of the staff however were full of smiles and very chatty. Lovely place just a shame about the miserable man at the front

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank angeldelight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme R, Manager at The Cornish Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi and thanks for your review and comments of the Cornish Bakery Lyme Regis. It seems very out of character for a staff member to be of the nature that you have mentioned; as you said with the other staff being so chatty and happy - all our staff are normally like this as we have such a happy team. It has been mentioned to the specific team member about it, it's all smiles now :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cornish Bakery also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Cornish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing