We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel and great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Second visit to the Mariners and thorougly enjoyed our stay again. The room (No.3) was lovely with twin beds and had everything you needed. Although it faced the main road there was very little traffic noise but we did have the double glazing closed. The food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent although I would have liked more than one vegetarian choice for starter and main course. Just as well I like goats cheese!!
Breakfast was delicious and the scrambled eggs were perfectly cooked. Only a couple of minor grumbles. The staff sitting in reception at night should be aware that residents can hear them talking through the floor and I was awoken by them in the early hours. The second minor grumble was that when I asked, as a courtesy, if we could leave our car in the car park for a few hours (should have said nothing!!) we were told that they had lunch guests arriving so preferred that we moved to the pay car park up the road. It was only £1.70 though so it is only a minor grumble, just thought it was a bit churlish since we were paying guests! We would definitely stay there again if we go back to Lyme Regis and would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the area. Special mention to the staff who were friendly and efficient, especially the Scottish lady who seemed to be "jet propelled" and took drink and food orders at top speed!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenyBognorRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    151
    55
    24
    8
See reviews for
47
240
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a three night break at the hotel in early March, which proved to be excellent value. We very much enjoyed our stay.The staff are friendly and attentive, and create a good atmosphere.

We had a standard room, which, though compact, was well designed and provided everything we needed.

The highlight was the food, which was excellent - leading us to eat in the restaurant on each night of our stay.

We will certainly stay at the Mariners again if we are in the area, and would recommend it to friends and family

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was our second visit since the beginning of December 2011. It is like going home now and really enjoy our stays. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is parking just across the road, which is a bonus in Lyme as it is very difficult to find easy parking. The breakfasts are wonderful, with a good selection. The hotel is clean, down to the door handles and light switches all clean and shiney. We have a further booking later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, the Saturday and Sunday before Valentine's day- that being so there were some Valentine's specials on offer at the hotel. Not that we took any of them up as it happened. The welcome as we arrived was friendly and helpful and beyond reproach, in fact the staff we met were always helpful, always friendly, and I cannot praise them enough. We stayed in Room 10 which was advertised as sea views, spectacular, and with a 4 poster bed. That I am afraid was pushing the boundaries of description. Put it this way it was modern not Elizabethan, with no fabric or other decor around it, and this on Valentine's weekend. However that would be my only slight criticism of the whole Marriners experience.

The room was modern, roomy, clean and if anything too hot. No bath but that did not matter to us, the shower was hardly a power shower but was nevetheless clean and adequate. Being at the back, it was quiet, and the sea view and vista of Lyme Regis was lovely.

We ate both evenings of our stay at the hotel, and also had two breakfasts. All meals were top quality in taste and presentation, I still remember the mixed sea food grill with fondness. Breakfasts too were excellent and as others have said there was a good choice.

The free car park although across a busy junction is roomy and convienient. It was a 10 minute walk down the hill through the town centre to the sea, the Cobb being a further 10 minute walk along the promenade, so the hotel is perfectly situated in my opinion. Bit of a trek back up the hill but you soon get used to it.

The hotel is olde worlde so has narrow stairs and passeages. We had no problems with that not sure what happens to the more infirm or older or disabled. something to check on before you book I reckon.

The hotel has our full recommendation and when we return to beautiful Dorset we will no doubt book there again. Thanks to all at the hotel for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Check on the four poster bed, rooms at the back overlook garden and are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from a two night break in Lyme Regis and stayed both nights at the Mariners. The hotel was very clean and tidy with the room (No 2) being modern, warm and comfortable.

This hotel has free parking opposite which is great as this can be an issue in Lyme. It is positioned at the top of a steep hill so walking back to the hotel from the beach is a bit of a task however you are rewarded with great views from the hotel garden which is an excellent place to sit out in if the weather is sunny.

The room was at the front of the hotel and faced the road, opposite a junction, which could lead to noise if you left the windows open at night, it doesn’t bother me as I sleep through this type of background noise but it could be an issue if you are a light sleeper. No noise though if you keep the double glazing closed.

The staff were very welcoming and check in was very efficient and quick as was checkout. The hotel has a bar and lounge area which was comfortable and serves a good selection of drinks.

We didn’t eat at the hotel other than breakfast and this was very good quality, great food and a good selection available, continental, full English, smoked fish, cereal etc pretty much anything you could reasonably want for breakfast in my view. I also heard good reviews about the hot chocolate served in the hotel but didn’t try it myself.

The only slight drawback was the shower in our room, it seemed to vary in temperature when the water system was being used in other parts of the hotel, which always makes me a bit on edge, as I am systematically covered in either too hot or cold water. The room had no bath as an alternative. So not too much of an issue for a two night break but could be a bit wearing if you stayed for a week.

All things considered a great place to stay and I wouldn’t hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Any doubts about slight noise from outside disturbing your sleep and I would ask for a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
4.5 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.0 km away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
12.8 km away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
13.0 km away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing