We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariners Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Inn(Chardstock)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
181
179
65
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
179
65
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parksea viewsteep hillold buildingexcellent restaurantpretty gardenlovely hotelrooms were very cleanfull englishsmall hotelnight breakcomfortable loungestayed one nighttown centresingle roomnice roombreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a three night break at the hotel in early March, which proved to be excellent value. We very much enjoyed our stay.The staff are friendly and attentive, and create a good atmosphere.

We had a standard room, which, though compact, was well designed and provided everything we needed.

The highlight was the food, which was excellent - leading us to eat in the restaurant on each night of our stay.

We will certainly stay at the Mariners again if we are in the area, and would recommend it to friends and family

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was our second visit since the beginning of December 2011. It is like going home now and really enjoy our stays. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is parking just across the road, which is a bonus in Lyme as it is very difficult to find easy parking. The breakfasts are wonderful, with a good selection. The hotel is clean, down to the door handles and light switches all clean and shiney. We have a further booking later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, the Saturday and Sunday before Valentine's day- that being so there were some Valentine's specials on offer at the hotel. Not that we took any of them up as it happened. The welcome as we arrived was friendly and helpful and beyond reproach, in fact the staff we met were always helpful, always friendly, and I cannot praise them enough. We stayed in Room 10 which was advertised as sea views, spectacular, and with a 4 poster bed. That I am afraid was pushing the boundaries of description. Put it this way it was modern not Elizabethan, with no fabric or other decor around it, and this on Valentine's weekend. However that would be my only slight criticism of the whole Marriners experience.

The room was modern, roomy, clean and if anything too hot. No bath but that did not matter to us, the shower was hardly a power shower but was nevetheless clean and adequate. Being at the back, it was quiet, and the sea view and vista of Lyme Regis was lovely.

We ate both evenings of our stay at the hotel, and also had two breakfasts. All meals were top quality in taste and presentation, I still remember the mixed sea food grill with fondness. Breakfasts too were excellent and as others have said there was a good choice.

The free car park although across a busy junction is roomy and convienient. It was a 10 minute walk down the hill through the town centre to the sea, the Cobb being a further 10 minute walk along the promenade, so the hotel is perfectly situated in my opinion. Bit of a trek back up the hill but you soon get used to it.

The hotel is olde worlde so has narrow stairs and passeages. We had no problems with that not sure what happens to the more infirm or older or disabled. something to check on before you book I reckon.

The hotel has our full recommendation and when we return to beautiful Dorset we will no doubt book there again. Thanks to all at the hotel for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Check on the four poster bed, rooms at the back overlook garden and are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAHAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from a two night break in Lyme Regis and stayed both nights at the Mariners. The hotel was very clean and tidy with the room (No 2) being modern, warm and comfortable.

This hotel has free parking opposite which is great as this can be an issue in Lyme. It is positioned at the top of a steep hill so walking back to the hotel from the beach is a bit of a task however you are rewarded with great views from the hotel garden which is an excellent place to sit out in if the weather is sunny.

The room was at the front of the hotel and faced the road, opposite a junction, which could lead to noise if you left the windows open at night, it doesn’t bother me as I sleep through this type of background noise but it could be an issue if you are a light sleeper. No noise though if you keep the double glazing closed.

The staff were very welcoming and check in was very efficient and quick as was checkout. The hotel has a bar and lounge area which was comfortable and serves a good selection of drinks.

We didn’t eat at the hotel other than breakfast and this was very good quality, great food and a good selection available, continental, full English, smoked fish, cereal etc pretty much anything you could reasonably want for breakfast in my view. I also heard good reviews about the hot chocolate served in the hotel but didn’t try it myself.

The only slight drawback was the shower in our room, it seemed to vary in temperature when the water system was being used in other parts of the hotel, which always makes me a bit on edge, as I am systematically covered in either too hot or cold water. The room had no bath as an alternative. So not too much of an issue for a two night break but could be a bit wearing if you stayed for a week.

All things considered a great place to stay and I wouldn’t hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Any doubts about slight noise from outside disturbing your sleep and I would ask for a room overlooking the garden rather than the road.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights in February and we were so happy that we chose this hotel. The staff were attentive to our every need! We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and we were impressed with the standard of food. The next night we chose to eat in the bar from that menu and the food was delicious too. Our room was cosy and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The only thing missing was a bath although the walk-in shower was great. We stayed in a room overlooking the main road but it was not noisy as the room had effective double glazing. You could not find a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 2 does not have a bath and faces the road although it was quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babygoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews