We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Effusion of joy”
Review of Fryer Tucks Cafe

Fryer Tucks Cafe
Ranked #63 of 91 Restaurants in Padstow
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

One could happily describe this emporium as a traditional delight for the passer by, second home owner or just mere local. It’s seafood wares are exquisitely battered and are an absolute treat for one’s palate. The service was impeccable in keeping with what one would expect from this delightful local brand. The pricing and uni-size portion strategy means there is no fear of mind boggling menu based combinations, thus meaning the simplest level of trading can take place within the means of the community. Observations were made however that the single portion quotas did create confusion amongst the mainstay customers, those being the seasonal temporary populous of St Merryn. A conversation of concern was overheard in the local inn that this premises Is soon to become the next establishment in a famous chain of seafood dining. One can only hope these rumours contain no scientific fact and that the festering omnishambles mentioned can be retained at a safe distance 880yds landwards.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank BobFromTheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

I have never been to a chippy before where the staff have such terrible attitudes and so expensive for what you get. I cannot remember the last time I was spoke to in such an indignified way. Over priced for the smallest portion & they talk to you like something from the bottom of their shoe. The food quality was just below average. It’s not very often I suggest a venue be avoided but this place is on that list. I personally will not be returning.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank cwb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We visited Fryer Tucks on Monday 10th of September as a family of four at 6pm. We all ordered fish, chips and peas. We immediately thought that the pricing was extremely expensive and inflated. As a family we spent over £30.00 and expected at least a decent sized portion to match the price. When the food was bought in to us we were all horrified to find a very small fish, the smallest pot of peas I’ve ever seen and a moderate amount of chips at best. The bad experience didn’t stop there, all the battered fish contained bones (which in itself is dangerous) and worst still the centre of the fish was luke warm and the batter in the middle was raw and floury. Not impressed at all. My honest opinion STAY AWAY. Much nicer fish and chips elsewhere, at half the price.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PBJB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Lovely, friendly staff. Can eat in or take away. Fish and chips served on a cardboard tray, but there are plates available in the cafe and also knives and forks. The fish was extra fresh and the batter was lovely and light and crispy, ample chips.Staff worked hard clearing tables, thoroughly cleaning them with sanitizer, swept underneath tables and and dust panned away. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sal046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Being just a mile from the sea and with a good reputation I was expecting this to be fantastic but it was very poor ...all four people who ordered the fish felt it was bland and sloppy ..it felt like it could be frozen which is disappointing considering it’s in a lovely village and a mile from the sea...bread rolls were tiny as well .....won’t be going again

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fryer Tucks Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fryer Tucks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing