We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest a while”

Rest A While Tea Garden
Ranked #1 of 7 Quick Bites in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The (tiny) tea garden is at the back of the two hundred year old 'Coastguard Houses' at Hawkers Cove, on the Coastal Path, 150m from the slipway at Hawkers Cove beach and enjoys fantastic views across the Doom Bar and mouth of the Camel Estuary, to Polzeath and Daymer Bay. We serve hot and cold drinks, homemade cakes, quiches and pies, homemade soups, filled jacket potatoes, made to order sandwiches, cream teas, ice creams and various snacks.(Our cream teas and our crab sandwiches are getting rave reviews). For anyone who is Coeliac, we have also added a Gluten Free Flapjack to our homemade products, which include Gluten Free Scones (of course), Gluten Free Lemon Drizzle Cake and Gluten Free Ginger Cake. We are stocking Gluten Free Bread, for sandwiches and Gluten Free Bread Rolls to compliment our Gluten Free homemade soups. We are 'Dog Friendly', welcoming well behaved pooches with a fresh bowl of water and biscuits. The tea garden is, literally, a garden, with no inside seating and is consequently very 'weather dependent' so if the weather is at all 'unsettled', we would advise that you phone ahead to make sure that we are open. The tea garden will be open 7 days a week (weather permitting) from Easter to October. Unfortunately we don't have any parking facilities, so if you wish to drive to us, we suggest that you park in the farmer's car park and walk along the coast path, or park anywhere on the road to Hawkers Cove and walk down the hill, (approx 500m). The tea garden is situated behind the top row of houses. We accept most Credit/Debit Cards. Please come and see us.... You will be made most welcome! Please note that during October we are open from 11.00am to 3.00pm
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent views and food! It is a great place to stop during a walk! Highly recommend this cafe and the chocolate cake!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your recommendation. Please spread the word about our tiny tea garden and come and see us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018

We come here whenever we are in the area and always receive a friendly welcome and excellent food. Looking forward to next visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank al1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your continued support. Please tell all your friends about us and we’ll look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Delicious crab sandwiches in the most idyllic setting with 5* views. So glad we chanced upon this place on our walk from padstow

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Shauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Thank you for the lovely review and your very kind comments. Please tell everyone about our tiny tea garden and come and see us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

4 of us dropped in whilst on a coastal walk on 9th October. We had teas & coffees, 3 of us had crab sandwiches and one had salmon sandwiches. Everything was freshly prepared and tasted delicious. Friendly, efficient service and a stunning location. Well worth the long walk. Will certainly visit again when next in Padstow.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robf892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. So glad that you enjoyed your visit to our tiny tea garden. We are gaining quite a reputation for our crab sandwiches. Please spread the word and we’ll look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Delicious Cornish cream tea served with a smile and warm welcome. Dogs welcome in outside area - water and biscuits provided

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are hopefully always very welcoming to all of our customers and we always have a smile waiting for them and their dogs...... Please tell all your friends about our tiny tea garden and come and see us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rest A While Tea Garden also viewed

 

Been to Rest A While Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing